Chocolate Lovers' Favorite Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Very moist. Used vanilla extract rather than almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Have made this cake many times...but I got everything together today and realized I didn't have an instant chocolate pudding mix. Used vanilla instead and told no one. No one knew the difference or mentioned anything about it tasting differently. SO! If ever you find yourself without a box of instant chocolate pudding to go into this cake...use vanilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florala, Alabama, USA
Living In: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I've made this cake twice now and probably will many times again. It wasn't too much batter for me. I thought it would be but it turned out just right for the cake I was making. But the advice that others gave given is sound. The recipe is right on, just watch that your mix doesn't already have pudding in it and don't over process the cake! Mix the wet first, then add the dry and mix it just enough. 1-2 minutes. 55 minutes was perfect for my oven. Always gets raves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Great result despite having no power mixer. Currently, I only have a little hand-held mixer and the stiff batter overwhelmed the motor. I did all my mixing with a wooden spoon, and certainly not for four minutes as I felt the batter was starting to develop its gluten framework within one minute. So, I had not much volume at all, and considered a potentially bad outcome. However, after baking 60 minutes and resting for ten minutes, that puppy came beautifully from the Bundt pan, even with standard chocolate chips mixed in. Needless to say, I am re-doubling my efforts to buy an original Kitchen Aid stand mixer on EBay, as I understand they are superior to the current new ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maple Glen, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bay Village, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This is the best chocolate cake recipe ever. Soooo gooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Hampton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I've been making this cake for years... Everyone who tastes it LOVES it! I omit the almond extract due to personal preference, but other than that I make the recipe as it reads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This was a nice flavorful, moist cake. Can easily be changed for any flavor. Add nuts, fruit, candied fruit, candies!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I have made this dozens of times now. I have mini bundt pans that I use for the extra batter and glaze with the satiny chocolate glaze found on this site. This is my most requested recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Hooper North

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I used this to make a cupcake cake and it worked perfectly! So moist and delicious. Came out of pan perfectly using Wilton's cake release.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This is the best chocolate cake I have ever made. Everyone that has tasted this cake calls me to make another one!! I have had 0 complaints or recommendations for changes! I follow this recipe exactly and it is the PERFECT level of moistness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookSavy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 803) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States