Chocolate Lovers' Favorite Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Hi! :) Reading advice throughout reviews, each baker, of course, will have different results. 65 mins w/ my oven. Taking almond out, replacing with vanilla actually makes this an "ordinary" chocolate cake. That hint of almond, a note of "what IS that special, wonderful flavor" is part of what makes this cake unique. The almond also brings out the chocolate flavor even more. And much depends on the pan you use, I bake in a copper bundt pan, required just a light spray of canola (Pam equivalent), each time I've made it, slips right out without a crumb left in the pan...it absolutely "falls" as it sets/cools the first 10 minutes. As others mentioned, this is part of what gives it dense, chocolatey yumminess. I've made it (by request) many times. Each time, perfect results after following the recipe exactly. I've never had extra batter, makes the perfect amount for a 10 inch bundt pan. For bakers without a lifetime of experience, advice to "mix chocolate chips with flour" could ruin the recipe if the reason and method is not understood. I use a sieve or colander (depending on size of holes so chips don't fall through)...chips or other additions (such as heavy choc chips or fruit etc) tend to sink to the bottom (like blueberries in muffins) a light coating of flour keeps chips etc, distributed evenly throughout the batter. You don't want to "mix" with flour, additional flour would alter the final result. I suggest as little additional flour as possible, sieve works great:) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
More like a brownie/pound cake consistency...VERY dense. Still tasty, but too dense to call a cake. I'd cut the sour cream, butter, and chocolate chip qty in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelaPetrino

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Very moist. Used vanilla extract rather than almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Have made this cake many times...but I got everything together today and realized I didn't have an instant chocolate pudding mix. Used vanilla instead and told no one. No one knew the difference or mentioned anything about it tasting differently. SO! If ever you find yourself without a box of instant chocolate pudding to go into this cake...use vanilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florala, Alabama, USA
Living In: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I've made this cake twice now and probably will many times again. It wasn't too much batter for me. I thought it would be but it turned out just right for the cake I was making. But the advice that others gave given is sound. The recipe is right on, just watch that your mix doesn't already have pudding in it and don't over process the cake! Mix the wet first, then add the dry and mix it just enough. 1-2 minutes. 55 minutes was perfect for my oven. Always gets raves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Great result despite having no power mixer. Currently, I only have a little hand-held mixer and the stiff batter overwhelmed the motor. I did all my mixing with a wooden spoon, and certainly not for four minutes as I felt the batter was starting to develop its gluten framework within one minute. So, I had not much volume at all, and considered a potentially bad outcome. However, after baking 60 minutes and resting for ten minutes, that puppy came beautifully from the Bundt pan, even with standard chocolate chips mixed in. Needless to say, I am re-doubling my efforts to buy an original Kitchen Aid stand mixer on EBay, as I understand they are superior to the current new ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maple Glen, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bay Village, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This is the best chocolate cake recipe ever. Soooo gooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Hampton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I've been making this cake for years... Everyone who tastes it LOVES it! I omit the almond extract due to personal preference, but other than that I make the recipe as it reads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This was a nice flavorful, moist cake. Can easily be changed for any flavor. Add nuts, fruit, candied fruit, candies!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I have made this dozens of times now. I have mini bundt pans that I use for the extra batter and glaze with the satiny chocolate glaze found on this site. This is my most requested recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Hooper North

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 805) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States