Chocolate Lovers' Favorite Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
My boyfriend LOVES this cake!!! His mom was a stay at home mom and bakes everything from scratch. I tried this recipe for him, praying that it would compare her's. OMG...he said that it was BETTER than her's!!! I get raves everytime I bake this. I did substitute 1/2 almond extract and 1/2 vannilla extract, and I also added the mini choc chips. Overall, it was GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lexistar23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JennyJenn
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
i will never ever ever ever need to search for, or make, another chocolate cake recipe... ever!!! this one is so delicious and so moist. it almost tastes like those mousey flourless cakes. it is amazing. the chocolate chips melt nicely into the batter. its delicious. i cant wait to make this one again. my friends loved it and requested it for their birthdays :) thanks so much for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Moist, delicious, and not too difficult. The batter was thick, but it made a beautiful bundt cake. I used a ganache recipe from this site to make dark chocolate ganache, poured that over the top, then drizzled melted white chocolate over it. I served it for my boyfriend's birthday party, and he LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I have baked so many different cakes from the website. Thus far my co-workers say this is the best they have ever tasted! I was shocked as previously I had never baked a chocolate cake because I have never thought I could bake them well! This recipe is excellent I have turned it into a double layer cake and add a raspberry filling- which adds an extra depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunny B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Best the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Winnsboro, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyInBliss
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Huge hit for us. There wasn't a slice of cake left over for my son's birthday party. I used this cake for his birthday cake because my son is a chocoholic and it turned out so well. It's a pretty dense and rich cake (almost like a brownie) so I used a light, fluffy, and creamy frosting to go with it as to not compete with the chocolate cake flavor (used the '7 minute frosting' from Joy of Cooking cookbook...and it was perfect). I also baked mine in two round cake pans rather than a bunt and the batter divided perfectly between two pans. I really wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. This is a cake for chocolate lovers...that's for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyInBliss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
If any of you love Applebee's brownie fudge dessert you will want this recipe! I used a bundt pan and filled within 1 1/2 inch. Also MINI chocolate chips. Serve with chocolate sauce and vanilla ice cream. Simply heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This cake is AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: East Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
for the past two years, it has become a tradition in my family that I make this cake for birthdays. I just dust it with powdered sugar and put it on a pedistal. It has that semi-homemade quality........super easy, moist and delicious. Thanks for the family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
This cake is so increadibly delicious!! I replaced some of the butter with applesauce and left out the chocolate chips. I actually really liked the almond extract in this cake, so I'll stick with that instead of mixing it with vanilla extract. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 803) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States