Chocolate Lovers' Favorite Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I made this exactly as it was written, and it has come out perfect every time. I do use a KitchenAid mixer, with the wisk attachment--just be sure you only put it on the second level--medium on the KitchenAid is NOT the same as medium on a hand mixer. The batter is always very fluffy when I put it in. Also, I can only find cake mix with pudding in the mix, and I STILL add the pudding, and it comes out wonderful! Just be sure to follow this recipe exactly, and you should have no problems! (Be sure to only let it cool for 10 minutes--if you let it cool too long in the pan, it could end up sticking.) Also, I recommend trying it at least once with the Almond Extract (as the recipe calls for.) I'm not a huge fan of nutty flavors, but Almond is known to bring out more of the chocoltae flavor, which it does. If you don't try it, you don't know what you are missing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I made this cake twice and the first time it flopped. I read through reviews with one star and found mine flopped exactly the way others did. It fell after being taken out of the oven and was a gooey mess. So I spoke to someone who does cake making professionally and to make a long story short I found I had overprocessed it. I use a kitchenaid mixer which is more powerful than a hand held and I used the whisk attachment instead of the paddle attachment. So when I remade it I followed her instructions which were to mix the eggs, sour cream, butter, and vanilla together really well. Then I sifted the cake mix and pudding together and added the wet ingredients to dry and processed it for 2 min with the paddle attachment. This time I was successful. It made a very rich very chocolaty cake. My friend also said another reason cakes fall is the oven is not hot enough and so check your oven temperature with an oven thermometer and make sure the temperature isn't too low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
467 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I made this for a New Year's Eve party. YUM! Turned out great. Actually, I made this twice for the party. I read the reviews and noted how others said to really, REALLY, grease up the pan so it turns out. Then in another review I read that you should put this upside down on a wine bottle (or some such) so the cake doesn't fall. Can you gues where I'm going with this? Yep, as I was trying to turn in over onto the wine bottle, the whole thing fell out, all over my counter. Oops. Made it again, and just let it sit in the pan until I turned it out on a cooling rack. I don't believe it fell at all. When I greased up the bunt pan, I sprinkled coco powder in the bottom. I didn't want any white from flour on my cake. I also read that it's better the next day, so I too made this a day ahead of time. LOL, Fortunately for my family, they had the first one to snack on. I used a Chocolate Ganache, then striped some White Cho. ganache over that. Then I did as the pictures, and added chocolate covered strawberries inside the hole and around the base of the cake. Looks so pretty and professional. Try this, you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
OMG!! I made this cake for Christmas and everyone loved it. I used the small morsels and served it with ice cream and it was great..Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Azita
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
This cake was amazing. I made this for my mother's birthday and my entire family absolutely loved it! I added a great big pile of fresh delicious strawberries in the middle of the bundt, and drizzle melted white and milk chocolate over the top. It tastes great and is very easy to make. For anybody that loves chocolate, you will love this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Azita
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Wonderfully moist. We served it with whipped cream, but found it too sweet. It was better with the unsweetened cream just poured over the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I have made this a few dozen times now. Everyone requests it! I make it as is and it's perfect every time! I love making it in mini bundt pans and giving them as gifts with an assortment of goodies. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This cake is the one I make my daughter-in-law every year for her birthday. I make a major change, though-- I bake it in two 9" pans. I prefer a layer cake to a bundt so I do it this way. I take out enough batter to make 3 cupcakes, then divide the rest between the two pans. Bake for 30-35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Excellent. Didn't have almond extract, so I used orange. Used 1 cup mini morsels, and 1 cup special dark chips. Baked in an tube pan, no problem. Served with fresh whipped cream and whole strawberries. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlthompson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I've made this cake several times. Be sure that you use a big enough bunt pan (fill the bundt pan leaving at least 2" from the top of the pan - otherwise the cake will overflow). I've started using mini chocolate chips (vs. the regular sized ones)because they melt completely. Sometimes the regular size chips don't melt completely - nothing wrong with this (still is delicious), but I prefer them to be melted. I do not make any changes to this recipe. I use the Whipped cream cream cheese icing found at Allrecipes.com and shave chocolate on top at the end. This is a fabulous chocolate cake recipe - and simple to make! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 151-160 (of 804) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States