Chocolate Lovers' Favorite Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
OMG!! I made this cake for Christmas and everyone loved it. I used the small morsels and served it with ice cream and it was great..Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Azita
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
This cake was amazing. I made this for my mother's birthday and my entire family absolutely loved it! I added a great big pile of fresh delicious strawberries in the middle of the bundt, and drizzle melted white and milk chocolate over the top. It tastes great and is very easy to make. For anybody that loves chocolate, you will love this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Azita
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Wonderfully moist. We served it with whipped cream, but found it too sweet. It was better with the unsweetened cream just poured over the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I have made this a few dozen times now. Everyone requests it! I make it as is and it's perfect every time! I love making it in mini bundt pans and giving them as gifts with an assortment of goodies. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This cake is the one I make my daughter-in-law every year for her birthday. I make a major change, though-- I bake it in two 9" pans. I prefer a layer cake to a bundt so I do it this way. I take out enough batter to make 3 cupcakes, then divide the rest between the two pans. Bake for 30-35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Excellent. Didn't have almond extract, so I used orange. Used 1 cup mini morsels, and 1 cup special dark chips. Baked in an tube pan, no problem. Served with fresh whipped cream and whole strawberries. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlthompson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I've made this cake several times. Be sure that you use a big enough bunt pan (fill the bundt pan leaving at least 2" from the top of the pan - otherwise the cake will overflow). I've started using mini chocolate chips (vs. the regular sized ones)because they melt completely. Sometimes the regular size chips don't melt completely - nothing wrong with this (still is delicious), but I prefer them to be melted. I do not make any changes to this recipe. I use the Whipped cream cream cheese icing found at Allrecipes.com and shave chocolate on top at the end. This is a fabulous chocolate cake recipe - and simple to make! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I bake this cake everytime I need no-fail and easy dessert. This makes an excellent "welcome to the neighborhood cake" or bake sale treat. You can buy all the ingredients at the Dollar Store! This cake is moist and decadent, and there is no reason to ever try any other cake recipes. It is tempting to put icing on all cakes, but trust me; this cake needs nothing added to it. You can put a simple powdered sugar/milk glaze on top if needed. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BetteDavisLies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milan, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Jackson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
My boyfriend LOVES this cake!!! His mom was a stay at home mom and bakes everything from scratch. I tried this recipe for him, praying that it would compare her's. OMG...he said that it was BETTER than her's!!! I get raves everytime I bake this. I did substitute 1/2 almond extract and 1/2 vannilla extract, and I also added the mini choc chips. Overall, it was GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lexistar23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J-Shep
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
i will never ever ever ever need to search for, or make, another chocolate cake recipe... ever!!! this one is so delicious and so moist. it almost tastes like those mousey flourless cakes. it is amazing. the chocolate chips melt nicely into the batter. its delicious. i cant wait to make this one again. my friends loved it and requested it for their birthdays :) thanks so much for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

Displaying results 151-160 (of 801) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States