Chocolate Lovers' Favorite Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Wow! Very easy & really good. If you are entertaining a chocoholic, this is the one. I used the Satiny Chocolate Glaze as topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I don't think there is anything wrong with the recipe if your ok with the taste of cake mix cakes. I was suprised that all the extra ingredients didn't enhance the taste of the cake. It was very moist though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosichops

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Yum! I did not have semisweet chocolate chips and used milk chocolate chips (the regular sized ones are not too big) instead and it still turned out great. I got all of the batter in the pan even though my cake mix had pudding in the mix and as it was baking it was puffing out the top but it did not overflow. The cake will sink down a little when it cools and is just fine. Make sure to serve this with a big scoop of vanilla ice cream. I just dusted the cake with powdered sugar. Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Photo by Crystal
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
the recipe is TOO MUCH! i used a bundt pan and followed the recipe to a T... and i smelled smoke, and i opened the oven 40 minutes in and there was batter bubbling over onto the oven wire on the bottom... if you make this cake, only fill it up so much.... onto the tasting! it was so dense, heavy, chocolatey and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This is a wonderful chocolate cake and to date my family's favorite. I use vanilla instead of the amaretto (family preference) and also use a tube pan..it overflows in a bundt. Comes out perfect! I also use the "satiny glaze" recipe that can be found on this site on top. I pour it on while the dake is still warm...boy oh boy a yummy gourmet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhonda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Yum. I followed the recipe except for using vanilla instead of almond extract. I used mini-chocolate chips as well and topped with Satiny Chocolate Glaze, a glaze also on allrecipes.com. This is YUMMY with whipped topping or ice cream! :-) It makes a bundt pan FULL and about 6 cupcakes. It rises a LOT, so leave about 2 inches from the top of your pan. Grease and flour well, and it doesn't stick at all. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Yes you MUST LOVE chocolate. This cake is very rich, and oh so delicious. I made it for my father-in-law on his birthday, everyone was going on and on about how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nederland, Texas, USA
Living In: Groves, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Amazing!! I've had blah results every time I've tried to make a homemade chocolate cake, but had never tried adding to a store-bought mix. I should have tried it sooner! This cake is pure wow. Better than any bakery cake I've ever had. I didn't have any troubles at all and didn't change anything except I used vanilla instead of almond extract. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
The perfect cake for a chocaholic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Wow! This is the best chocolate cake ever. Very rich. The aroma while it was baking told me there was something special in the oven! No need to divide between 2 pans. Just follow the directions. The cake will rise above the bundt pan while baking, but then settle back down while cooling. The ONLY change I made was using mini chocolate chips. I drizzled icing on the finished cake and added strawberries as pictured. It made a nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynna_Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcade, New York, USA
Living In: Lindale, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 804) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States