Chocolate Lovers' Favorite Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I used this recipe to make cupcakes for my daughters birthday. They were great! Since I live in a high altitude I added 1/4 cup of flour and 1 tbsp of water to keep the cupcakes from sinking. I replaced 1/2 of the butter with applesauce. and baked them for 22 min. each. VERY RICH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Ristine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I have made this at least a dozen times and it is always excellent. Loads of chocolate, moist, sometimes a little gooey on the inside. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALEXIS4000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I have browsed over this recipe several times (it's in my "favorites" book), but never gave second thought to making it. I was at my local grocery store, and, while browsing through the magazine section, met a lady who I began to have conversation with. We both LOVE Allrecipes (go figure!) and started talking about recipes we had tried. She suggested this one - with a couple of modifications (i.e. substituting Ghirardelli dark chocolate cake mix and mini chocolate chips, baking in a 9x13 pan and frosting with melted white chocolate chips). I tried her suggestions, except I frosted my cake with Betty Crocker vanilla frosting (I don't care for white chocolate that much). Brought this to work and was surprised to see that it was not devoured (I've brought many dishes to work and they were licked clean), but I think it has to do with timing (I made this in the spring) - everyone is trying to shed those winter pounds : ) I didn't care for this b/c of the dark chocolate flavor (I don't care for the taste, but, b/c I was making this for a crowd, and knowing that dark chocolate is so well-received, I gave it a whirl). I think the batter was better than the finished product (but watch, it is REALLY thick and difficult to mix). One other point to note: use mini chips (I didn't have any on hand). The regular-sized chips don't melt completely. I may make this again (as directed) to see if I like it better. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I made this for my husband last Valentines Day and he says it's his favorite chocolate cake ever...that says a lot because he is the ultimate chocolate lover. I drizzeled mine with white chocolate and strawberries...next time Ill probably do a glaze or something. Its super moist... and definately worth the calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSCHALK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
Too much sour cream, too much butter and the almond extract took away from the chocolate taste of the cake. It was way to wet when it had cooked for 55 minutes and the outside was way too done. Will not make this again. The best chocolate cake is the Too Much Chocolate Cake recipe frome this site. If you really like chocolate try that one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grancooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enid, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Fantastic! I made this for my husband's birthday. He loved it and bragged to all his work buddies about how good of a cook I am!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNN39SCAF
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This is the best chocolate cake...almost as dense as a brownie. It taste even better the next day after it's had a chanceto sit and become denser. I made it in a full size tube pan-had plenty of room but it did take an extra 15 mins to bake thru. For the little effort this takes, it's a wonderful dessert. Topped it with the satiny chocolate glaze and it was totally yummy. It's so rich though that unless you have a crowd of people, you'll have leftovers cause you can only eat a little at a time. ***addition...made this a second time and forgot to but 2 c sour cream. only used 1 and it wasw every bit as good as the 1st one. My office LOVED this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
This cake was excellent!! Drizzled it with both "Satiny Chocolate Glaze"- from this website, as well as a white chocolate glaze and garnished with fresh strawberries. Looked great and tasted even better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hutchinson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This is my go-to recipe for a moist, dense chocolate cake. It is always a crowd pleaser. I like to top mine with chocolate ganache poured over the top and down the sides. I have also melted coconut pecan frosting and poured over it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I've made this cake three times now with no changes from the original recipe. I get raves each time and have been asked to make it again this weekend for a fundraiser cake sale. Definitely an easy cake to make -- very rich and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roslyn, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 805) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States