Chocolate Lovers' Favorite Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
Too much sour cream, too much butter and the almond extract took away from the chocolate taste of the cake. It was way to wet when it had cooked for 55 minutes and the outside was way too done. Will not make this again. The best chocolate cake is the Too Much Chocolate Cake recipe frome this site. If you really like chocolate try that one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grancooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enid, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Fantastic! I made this for my husband's birthday. He loved it and bragged to all his work buddies about how good of a cook I am!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNN39SCAF
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This is the best chocolate cake...almost as dense as a brownie. It taste even better the next day after it's had a chanceto sit and become denser. I made it in a full size tube pan-had plenty of room but it did take an extra 15 mins to bake thru. For the little effort this takes, it's a wonderful dessert. Topped it with the satiny chocolate glaze and it was totally yummy. It's so rich though that unless you have a crowd of people, you'll have leftovers cause you can only eat a little at a time. ***addition...made this a second time and forgot to but 2 c sour cream. only used 1 and it wasw every bit as good as the 1st one. My office LOVED this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
This cake was excellent!! Drizzled it with both "Satiny Chocolate Glaze"- from this website, as well as a white chocolate glaze and garnished with fresh strawberries. Looked great and tasted even better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hutchinson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This is my go-to recipe for a moist, dense chocolate cake. It is always a crowd pleaser. I like to top mine with chocolate ganache poured over the top and down the sides. I have also melted coconut pecan frosting and poured over it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I've made this cake three times now with no changes from the original recipe. I get raves each time and have been asked to make it again this weekend for a fundraiser cake sale. Definitely an easy cake to make -- very rich and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roslyn, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
did not cook evenly. but tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAH
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Wow! Very easy & really good. If you are entertaining a chocoholic, this is the one. I used the Satiny Chocolate Glaze as topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I don't think there is anything wrong with the recipe if your ok with the taste of cake mix cakes. I was suprised that all the extra ingredients didn't enhance the taste of the cake. It was very moist though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosichops

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Yum! I did not have semisweet chocolate chips and used milk chocolate chips (the regular sized ones are not too big) instead and it still turned out great. I got all of the batter in the pan even though my cake mix had pudding in the mix and as it was baking it was puffing out the top but it did not overflow. The cake will sink down a little when it cools and is just fine. Make sure to serve this with a big scoop of vanilla ice cream. I just dusted the cake with powdered sugar. Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 801) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States