Chocolate Lovers' Favorite Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I made this cake to bring to the office and they LOVE it! I've heard a couple "this is the best cake I've ever had"s. I made it with the suggestion of vanilla instead of almond extract and glazed with half of the Easy Chocolate Bundt Cake Glaze (from this site). I must admit, it's pretty darn good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MegHarmeyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Very yummy, easy, and can make a beautiful presentation. I followed one suggestion and used mini chocolate bits. To make it pretty and extra yummy I added the Satiny Chocolate glaze and a confectionary sugar glaze, mini chocolate bits on top, and chocolate covered strawberries. I took it to a Women's Club meeting and it was a big hit and my husband also loved it! Great recipe and VERY easy! I will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I made this cake for Valentines day put in 9" pans. But I whipped the ingreadients together and then put in cake. Used Chocolate buttercream frosting WOW It was the best and Family agreed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Baked exactly and turned out amazing! The almond extract complemented the chocolate beautifully. Instead of removing from pan after 10 minutes, I let it cool in the pan for about an hour, and then removed it. No problem at all. Superb when topped with chocolate ganache recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Great Cake. I used only the bundt cake pan despite others suggestions to use another small pan because of quantity. I thought I would regret it at first-but I just turned the oven off and let it bake for an additional 10-15 minutes. I used mini chips & poked holes in the cake and poured a melted a tub of store bought icing over the cake. My PICKY family absolutely loved this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA
Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This was very good, but not the best I've ever had. I was expecting it to be more dense, and less fluffy. I topped it with a dark chocolate ganache, and everyone loved it! I also used vanilla extract instead of almond. I will make this again, but maybe do a little experimenting.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Great recipe .............Thank so much .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I made this as a birthday cake for one of my co-workers who LOVES chocolate. It was so good she HAD to take some home. The part of the cake she did share was goobled up and the other part went home to her hubby and probably a late night treat for her too! I topped it with chocolate ganache recipe and used vanilla extract. I am making a holiday version of this cake tonight with white chocolate drizzle and strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PEACEMEL
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Delicious cake. I like to drizzle ganache on it with crushed mint candies for a fabulous holiday treat. You can also add a little flavoring to the cake including raspberry or orange. MMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEACEMEL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Very moist! Would substitute Vanilla extract for the Almond Extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 803) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States