Chocolate Lovers' Favorite Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Made this cake for a friends B-day. I used rasberry filled chocolate chip chunks. Got rave reviews. I am now making for another B-day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Hands down the best chocolate cake ever! Did have extra batter and used it to make cupcakes - they took about 17 minutes in the oven along with the cake proper. Used the Chocolate Glaze II recipe from this site for the cake. Everyone moaned in delight at their first taste! The utensils and platter from the cake were literally scraped clean after the rest had been demolished by my co-workers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I made this exactly as the recipe stated. My husband wanted a chocolate cake for his birthday so I thought I would make him one from this site. I borrowed a bundt pan. Needless to say I have to now buy our own pan because he liked this so much he wants me to make it again. Used the satiny chocolate glaze from this site to top it. What a great combination. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This cake is fabulous. The batter is very thick and I had enough to fill my bundt pan and make 6 cupcakes. I did sub the mini chocolate chips and was glad I did. My cake did fall some, but not enough to get upset about. I definitely suggest mixing the wet ingredients in one both, the dry in a second and then slowly and gently mix just until it is all moistened to help with that problem. It was a wonderful cake that I will definitely make again. My entire family loved it. I topped it with the Satiny Chocolate glaze from this site. OMG!! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Fabulous chocolate cake recipe. I have become the baker extraordinare at work as a result of this cake. Out of a team of 10 at work, it was gone in under an hour (from when I took it out at 10 am!) Only change was vanilla instead of almond. I just used powdered sugar on top and did not bother with a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica-Rabbit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I made this for the guys at the fire department where my husband works. He called me to tell me it was a HIT! Said a definate do-again! Only thing I did was add a little water, my batter was way thick..and I did have to mix by hand because my hand mixer was broken at the time...but well worth it. I did the same as far as putting my miniature chips in some flour to keep them from sinking and I used vanilla instead of almond extract...Thanks for the recipe..was awesome according to the firefighters..and you know that they KNOW good food ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okarche, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Quitman, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Great cake for us chocoholics. Did put it in an larger cake pan and was so glad I had. My bundt pan would not have been large enough for all the batter. Thanks for another keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I liked this cake very much. I made it for my sister-in-laws b-day and it was quite a hit. I did follow one other review and added a bit of flour (amount stated on side box) because I am at a high altitude. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I made this cake to bring to the office and they LOVE it! I've heard a couple "this is the best cake I've ever had"s. I made it with the suggestion of vanilla instead of almond extract and glazed with half of the Easy Chocolate Bundt Cake Glaze (from this site). I must admit, it's pretty darn good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MegHarmeyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Very yummy, easy, and can make a beautiful presentation. I followed one suggestion and used mini chocolate bits. To make it pretty and extra yummy I added the Satiny Chocolate glaze and a confectionary sugar glaze, mini chocolate bits on top, and chocolate covered strawberries. I took it to a Women's Club meeting and it was a big hit and my husband also loved it! Great recipe and VERY easy! I will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 801) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States