Chocolate Lovers' Favorite Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This was perfection! I used a bag of mini chocolate chips and they melted just perfectly to give it that creamy chocolate texture. I also used German Choc cake mix just out of personal preference (I think it is a little more moist). I also used vanilla instead of almond extract because we aren't big almond fans. Make sure you spray your pan really well, and the cake will slide right out. Also, bake on cookie sheet because it does boil over a little. This was DELISH! Moist and creamy and SO great! I made it for my MIL's birthday, and everyone loved it!! Keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Everyone absolutely loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Best chocolate cake I ever made! Used 3 9" cake pans to make a layer cake instead of a Bundt. I didn't want it to be overwhelmingly chocolate so substituted 2 cups of crush almonds for the 2 cups of chocolate chips. It added something different and really made it a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenvalerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
One of the best chocolate cakes I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This cake is perfect as is, a huge hit anywhere I've taken it and goes great with vanilla ice cream. Easily one of the best cakes I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This cake is the bomb!! It was so good and everyone was complimenting me and loved it. I used white icing with the chocolate covered strawberries and it was beautiful! I will definitely make this again! It was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda Workman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I thought I'd tried every "super-chocolate" cake recipe there was, and then I stumbled across this one. I knew I would like anything with all that butter and sour cream, but I was still amazed at how awesomely delicious this is. Unfortunately it has turned out to be quite inconsistent and unreliable. When it is good, it is fantastic - sort of like a giant chocolate truffle. But more times than not, it falls, fails to cook through or does other weird and unpleasant things. I've moved on to another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
simply the best. forget calorie counting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Really great! My daughter is a chocoholic and loves this cake! I used the mini chips and satiny glaze. Be sure not to over bake, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
the most asked for birthday cake at my house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 801) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States