Chocolate Lovers' Favorite Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Delicious cake but what does everyone use for the drizzle on top?? I think this should be included in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
My nephew wanted this for his birthday cake - the whole family thought this cake was moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrolivi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alburnett, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
It was good but I not think it was to sweet. I think it was kind of bitter, next time am going to try milk chocolate. My family though the same thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Made this cake and everyone loved it. Served hot with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
My go to recipe! This is such a rich most cake, I mix it up with different flavor cake mixes and extract. I always get compliments when I use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by athenacapri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I made this for a dinner party last night and it was AMAZING- everyone had seconds. I followed the advise of other reviews and used my kitchen aid paddle and made sure I didn't overmix. I also mixed wet ingredients together before adding to cake mix. For icing I applied store bought whipped cream cheese icing while cake was hot and it melted beautifully on top and down some sides. I decorated with strawberries but we ate it before I was able to take a picture. Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
My, oh my, oh my! This is fantastic! I made it just as written except baked it in an angel food pan. I topped it with the ganache recipe from this website. I added Amaretto to the ganache instead of rum. I also heated some frozen raspberries and added just a touch of sugar (enough to allow them to keep their tartness). I sprinkled powdered sugar on the slice of cake and served it with a spoonful of the raspberries on the side. Heaven on earth! I had tried (twice) a different "too much chocolate" cake recipe on this site and my entire family felt it was too heavy and not very flavorful. This one is smooth and delicious. Wow! Thank you, Susan, for a spectacular dessert recipe. This is definitely one to prepare when you are trying to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
It was ok. Did not have the really chocolatey taste that I was trying to achieve. I did fit all the batter in one bundt pan and it did not deflate much at all after baking. Maybe if the glaze recipe was included that is shown in the photo, it would have tasted better. The glaze that I did use, found on this website, wasn't that great either. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Hi! :) Reading advice throughout reviews, each baker, of course, will have different results. 65 mins w/ my oven. Taking almond out, replacing with vanilla actually makes this an "ordinary" chocolate cake. That hint of almond, a note of "what IS that special, wonderful flavor" is part of what makes this cake unique. The almond also brings out the chocolate flavor even more. And much depends on the pan you use, I bake in a copper bundt pan, required just a light spray of canola (Pam equivalent), each time I've made it, slips right out without a crumb left in the pan...it absolutely "falls" as it sets/cools the first 10 minutes. As others mentioned, this is part of what gives it dense, chocolatey yumminess. I've made it (by request) many times. Each time, perfect results after following the recipe exactly. I've never had extra batter, makes the perfect amount for a 10 inch bundt pan. For bakers without a lifetime of experience, advice to "mix chocolate chips with flour" could ruin the recipe if the reason and method is not understood. I use a sieve or colander (depending on size of holes so chips don't fall through)...chips or other additions (such as heavy choc chips or fruit etc) tend to sink to the bottom (like blueberries in muffins) a light coating of flour keeps chips etc, distributed evenly throughout the batter. You don't want to "mix" with flour, additional flour would alter the final result. I suggest as little additional flour as possible, sieve works great:) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
More like a brownie/pound cake consistency...VERY dense. Still tasty, but too dense to call a cake. I'd cut the sour cream, butter, and chocolate chip qty in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelaPetrino

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 803) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States