Chocolate Lover's Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I made this for my husband's Easter potluck. When he called me in the afternoon he said, and I quote " I went in the lunchroom to get the pan and caught a guy licking it" Gross, but you get the point! Apparently, it was a huge hit and not a morsel was left. The only reason I give it 4 instead of 5 stars is because I had to make alterations suggested by a few other members in order to get the recipe to work. 1. I melted the chocolate chips 2. I added approximately 7 minutes to the cooking time as it was undercooked after the suggested time. Thank you for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliosmom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
Absolutly wonderful cheesecake. I made mine in a pie dish and it still comes out fine. I also use an oreo crust (about half a bag of oreos and 3/4 stick of melted butter)- hey.. if your gonna go chocolate... go all the way! I omit the chocolate chips (to keep the smooth velvety texture) and add 1/4 C expresso to make a "chocolate cappachino" cheesecake. Personally, I think it tastes better than that choc capp. cheesecake recipe on here and WAY easier!! I dont use the sour cream topping because the cheesecake has such a beautiful chocolatly color by itself... Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I misread the recipe and melted the chocolate chips before mixing them into the cheesecake mixture. It was a good mistake to make. The cake is rich and creamy and so chocolatey. I also added a tiny bit of cinnamon and topped it with sliced fresh strawberries. I used a ready-made chocolate crumb crust. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This recipe was perfect for adapting for our family’s dietary needs. I subbed used 1/3 cup + 1 tbl of Stevia and ½ cup + ½ tbl of organic sugar. I replaced one of the packages of cream cheese with Neufchâtel cheese. Instead of butter, I used Smart Balance Blend. I also used low fat graham crackers. To ensure consistency, I used an extra egg yolk. The sour cream was reduced fat. Like many others in the reviews, I melted the chocolate chips. This was by far the tastiest cheesecake I’ve made in awhile. It was also the simplest. I was a little worried that it wouldn’t be set in the allotted time, but I was worried for nothing. The second really made helped bring together the flavors in the topping. I’m not big on toping cheesecakes with sour cream, but this worked. I will say that I’d be fine with no topping at all because the cheesecake doesn’t really need it. The crust was just right, the consistency of the cheesecake was perfect and the taste was spot on. There are no leftovers. If you are hesitating about which recipe to try- go for this one. Its easy and its delicious. What more can you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Washington, Maryland, USA
Living In: Milton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I made this cheesecake for a friend's birthday. It was devoured quickly and the recipe requested by almost everyone. I would, however, bake the cheesecake a little longer because the center didn't appear to have set all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie in GA
Home Town: Norcross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Sugar Hill, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
ok, this is my all time favorite 'bring over to someones house' dessert. its super easy and consistently good each time! last time I used swirled with white choc. chips, and it was delicious! and i also experimented and put a touch of almond extract in instead of vanilla... delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DONNAPLANTE
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
Ecellent & EASY recipe. I love this cheeesecake recipe. It was simple & I used the chunck chips and added a few on top prior to the sour cream topping. I was worried it would not set up it seemed not done but to my surprise it was PERFECT. I added cherries on top and it was exquisite and delicious! I give HIGH marks. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNAPLANTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Saco, Maine, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2004
Excellent!!! My Dad pronounced it "Divine". I'd recommend using the mini chips and make a chocolate wafer crumb crust instead of grahm cracker for the ultimate in chocolate. Will definately be making this again & again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
A true chocolate lover's dessert! I get tired of seeing 'chocolate' recipes that call for almost no cocoa. Took a star off because the sour cream topping didn't work, it was too much vanilla. Next time I'll either leave out the vanilla or not do the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
I have never seen my husband go back for seconds of ANY dessert (except cheese) until I made this! I adjusted the recipe and used Resse's brand peanut butter and chocolate chips and also substituted Splenda for half the sugar. For simplicity, I used pre-made crusts as well. Finally I topped it off with melted chocolate over the top to dress it up a little. I actually had people say it looked like a store-bought cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States