Chocolate Layered Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Love the layers. Make Chocolate Cream Pie II for the chocolate layer if you like chocolate pudding from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookingMOM
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I love this recipe. I didn't do the crust, I just bought a pre-made one. I also don't usually make pies so I didn't know I needed to soften the cream cheese before I mixed it. So other than the cream cheese chunks, lol, the pie was very delish. I used 1 1/2 cups milk as did the other reviewers and took the time to make the star topping out of the cool whip. I will defiantly be making this pie for Thanksgiving and other holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
So good!!! Must have in the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sam
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I think the 5.9 ounce package of instant pudding mix was a typo- pretty sure it was supposed to call for the 1.5 ounce package. The chocolate mixture had the consistency of rubber, and sat in the middle of the soft cream cheese mixture. The cream cheese mixture tasted ok. The crust was bland and hard to mold to the sides of the pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I decided to make this pie for my husband since he loves cream pies and I do not. Ok this tastes great but I ran into a few problems, #1 everyone is right about milk measurement, #2 my pie pan was regular not deep so I had to remove some of the cream cheese mixture before putting chocolate or else it wouldn't have fit. Now I can't rate the crust since I didn't follow directions but I recommend doing what I did, which is using frozen pie crust thawing it and adding the pecans to that. Overall everyone loved it but it was a bit much next time I'll make it in a 9x13. And if your worried about a packaged taste like another reviewer mentioned I'm not a fan of that taste either and I didn't think this tasted overly packaged if it did it was too good to care :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Definitely needed extra milk like others have stated. Besides that, I followed the recipe exactly and it was very good. Next time I'll add some sugar to the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gurl_cbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Yum! This is similar to Butterscotch Pecan Dessert here on allrecipes. I also adjusted the milk, added a bit of sugar to the crust, vanilla to the cream cheese and baked for 15 minutes. This is my shortcut version but when I want to take it to share with friends I make my own chocolate pie filling and use whipped cream. Either way it's a favorite. I can't wait to try it with butterscotch pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This is sweet and indulgent, but very good. The other reviewers are right - the butter pecan crust really is amazing and makes this a stand-out. Otherwise, it's really just pudding, sugary cream cheese, and whipped cream (which--don't get me wrong--is delicious!). I made these adjustments: For the crust, I substituted half of the flour with graham cracker crumbs and added some sugar. It was hard to decide when to take it out of the oven. When I did, it was still kind of smushy, and only slightly brown. It turned out great though. I did as others recommended and cut in half everything involved with the cream cheese mixture part. A better ratio that way. I layered bits of toffee (about half of a Heath bag) on top of the cream cheese mixture. I used two 5.9 oz boxes of pudding mix and 2 and 2/3 cup milk. Worked great. I hate the artificialness of Cool Whip, so I made freshly whipped cream - If you haven't made it before, it is SO easy - look it up. You just need almost a whole 16 oz container of heavy cream (or whipping cream), some vanilla, and some sugar. I put toffee bits and chocolate shavings (just get a Hersheys bar and shave it with a vegetable peeler) on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Another reviewer was right. 2/3 C. milk cannot be correct. My mom gave me a similar recipe 20 years ago that calls for 2 3-oz. pkgs chocolate pudding mixed with 3 C. milk. THAT is correct. Mom's recipe also has 2 T. sugar in the crust mix. I use chopped walnuts in the crust, instead of pecans. Chilling 1.2 - 2 hours is preferred, but not necessary at all. It's nice to top the top layer with chopped nuts and shaved chocolate for a pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I made this pie for Christmas, it was gone in a flash, I did change it a little, I used a boughten pie crust, I used 2 puddings and 1 3/4 cups of milk, I used chopped almonds instead of pecans, I put those on top of pudding. Thank you for sharing this recipe, I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States