Chocolate Layered Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
I have made this three times in the past week for different holiday gatherings and the result was the same every time- it was the first dessert to go amidst six or seven others. After hearing the comments from people eating it, those who didn't get a slice were begging for a taste! I did make a few changes. First, I added a quarter cup of white sugar to the crust. Next I added a teaspoon of vanilla to the cream cheese mixture. Then I also used 1 1/3 cups of milk as others suggested. Finally, I topped the whipped cream with mini chocolate morsels. Super easy and scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Must have been a typo, do you know what you get when you add 2/3 cup milk to 5.9 oz of chocolate pudding? a whisk full of !! it should read 2 2/3 cup milk. dont you test theese before you let them be posted?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Definately a tasty and EASY recipe! I made this for New Year's eve and there were lots of desserts there, this one got the most raves! My sister really wants the recipe! Changes I made: I put toffee chips in between the cream cheese and pudding layers and on top. I also used 1 1/3 milk for the pudding, 1/4 cup sugar in he crust and 1 tsp of vanilla in the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S Griffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Simple, yet elegant with a great presentation, this dessert was a hit! I used a combo of pecans and cashews in my crust (didn't have enough pecans) and added a couple of tablespoons of brown sugar. Baked my crust for about 20 mins, perfect! I used light cream cheese, fat free Cool Whip and fat free pudding mix (like any of it matters!!). I do believe that 2/3 cup of milk is a typo in this recipe...the box directions are 2 cups, but I think it depends how thick you want your pudding layer to be within this pie. I used about 1 1/2 cups of milk and found it perfect! Decorated the top with semi-sweet chocolate shavings, just beautiful! Five stars plus and a repeat for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Love the cream cheese and chocolate together in this pie. Will definately make it again. I used about a cup of milk in the pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Definite typo-on the milk- I use 2 small packages of instant pudding and 3 cups milk. I've been making this recipe for years and everyone raves about it. I toast 1/2 cup pecans, 1/2 cup coconut flakes and a little butter, cool and sprinkle on top. For potlucks I bake in 9 X 13 pan- it's easier to serve and goes further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
My mother has been making this recipe since I was born I think. We always double the recipe and put it in a 9x13 to take to parties and get-togethers. I've made it so many times that I rarely can stand to eat it, but everyone always BEGS me or my mom to make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This was an excellant recipe. I did add the teaspoon of vanilla to the cream cheese and I made the pudding at directed on the package. I also used a graham cracker crust instead of making my own. And put chopped pecans on top. It was very easy and very delicious!! I also added another box of pudding for an even fuller pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
This pie was awesome! I added 1/4 cup sugar to the crust and used 1 1/3 cups of milk in the pudding layer. The crust was so good. Next time I might try brown sugar in the crust. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I doubled the recipe and used a 9 x 13 dish. It came out great. This was the kids favorite on Thanksgiving. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States