Chocolate Layered Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
My parents freaked out when they tasted this pie. They couldn't believe that I made it. It was ten times better than their favorite pie, "Touch of Heaven" that they always get at their favorite restaraunt. This pie ROCKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
Chocolate was a little tricky to spread but it tasted wonderful and was a hit for my party!!!! I topped it with whipped cream and some extra nuts and it looked beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
My family LOVES this recipe. It was the first thing to go in the midst of 20 or so other desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2001
Delicious. I increased the milk in the pudding to 1 1/3 cup. My entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
VERY GOOD RECEPIE. AT FIRST I WAS A LITTLE CONCERNED WITH ALL THAT RICH CHOCOLATE; BUT I INCREASED THE MILK TO 1 1/3 CUP MILK IN THE PUDDING MIX. IT WAS WONDERFUL. THAT CRUST IS OUT OF THIS WORLD, AND SO SIMPLE. THIS RECEPIE IS ALOT LIKE ONE MY STEP MOM CALLED "DREAM WHIP PIE", COULD NEVER FIGURE OUT HOW SHE MADE THAT CRUST AND NOW I KNOW... THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
All of my family loved this receipe. I changed the crust to half flour and half gramham cracker crumbs and added 1/4 cup of brown sugar and I also changed the milk amount to 1 1/3 cups. It made the dessert even more tasteful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
I have made this three times in the past week for different holiday gatherings and the result was the same every time- it was the first dessert to go amidst six or seven others. After hearing the comments from people eating it, those who didn't get a slice were begging for a taste! I did make a few changes. First, I added a quarter cup of white sugar to the crust. Next I added a teaspoon of vanilla to the cream cheese mixture. Then I also used 1 1/3 cups of milk as others suggested. Finally, I topped the whipped cream with mini chocolate morsels. Super easy and scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
I started making this recipe last Christmas, and its been a hit every single time. I made one for a Superbowl party, and it went so fast, that for the Memorial day party, I'm making 2! I also increased the milk a little. I have at other times combined the pudding mixture with the cheesecake mixture, to make a "chocolate cheesecake", and I use different toppings, like crushed pecans or chocolate morsels. When I'm in a hurry, a store bought graham cracker or oreo cookie crust works just as well. Thanks for this recipe! Everyone asks for it, and its like I've got my own "specialty" now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNNKYBUTT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Canaveral, Florida, USA
Living In: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2002
I found this dessert at a covered dish dinner, and have loved it ever since! Two different suggestions for variations: 1) Mix about 5 oreo cookies into flour mixture. Mix about 7-10 cookies into cream cheese mixture. Garnish with Oreo crumbs. 2) Make a cherry glaze and drizzle over top, and garnish with maraschino cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2002
This was a really good pie. A couple of the changes I made were to use graham cracker crumbs and white sugar to make the bottom crust, instead of a flour crust. I also made the pudding according to the pie directions on the box and threw some chopped pecans on top for decoration. This pie was gone quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States