Chocolate Layered Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
Great & Easy recipe. Per a comment in the cookbook, I did add some sugar to the crust ingredients. Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
My mother has been making this recipe since I was born I think. We always double the recipe and put it in a 9x13 to take to parties and get-togethers. I've made it so many times that I rarely can stand to eat it, but everyone always BEGS me or my mom to make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
This recipe is so easy and absolutely wonderful! I'm also going to use the simple pie crust recipe for some other pie recipes....wonderful! Thanks Jan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
Excellent. I doubled the recipe and prepared it in an oblong cake pan. I used French Vanilla and Cheesecake pudding together. Topped with peanut butter chips, mini chocolate kisses and toffee bits for my husband's birthday dessert. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
I have been looking for this recipe because Imy family loves it so much. Try it with fresh sliced peaches or strawberries. My family is not that big but at large dinners we have to make two, especially if it is peach season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
My aunt makes a version of this recipe with chopped walnuts instead of pecans. She spreads the remaining nuts on top of the whipped cream layer. We've been bringing it to family parties for the past 15 years, and it's always the most popular dessert on the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
The recipe produces enough for two pies. It was good but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
what a great pie-- i have made this one years ago, but used a 9x13 baking dish and therefore more pudding, nuts, etc. i usually make it for large gatherings, since it's so much. everybody loves it in its chocolate incarnation, but i personally think it's best with a PISTACHIO pudding filling--mmmmmm! we call it "hoosier pudding pie".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
I made this for the first time last Thanksgiving and this year, everyone REQUESTED that I make it! I add chocolate shavings on top of the cool whip for decoration!!! AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLISONBROADUS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klein, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Nice & easy crust, very creamy smooth texture. I find Dream Whip topping nicer to use than the frozen topping. I could not find a 5.9ounce pkg of instant choc pudding anywhere? - all pkgs were 3.9ounce,(113g)With only 2/3 c milk this makes for a very thin chocolate layer. Will definitely make again but next time I will use more milk with the chocolate pudding (1 1/3c) as recommended in other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States