Chocolate Layered Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This pie is absolutely delicious and easy to prepare! I considered changing a few things before I made it, especially because the crust sounded like it might be bland or something, but I'm glad I decided to just stick with the original recipe. Perfect as-is! Just made this today for Thanksgiving, thanks for the great recipe! :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorielle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Nice smooth pie. Simple enough to whip up on a weeknight, but tastes so good you can serve with holiday dinners too. I think this pie will taste good with other pudding flavors. I am going to try pistachio next. Perhaps a butterscotch as well. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Satsuma, Alabama, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This pie is super easy to make and tastes wonderful. I used pecan halves smashed into tiny pieces (almost dust) by a mallet for the crust. I had problems spreading the thick chocolate layer over the soft cream cheese layer, so I ended up running to the store to buy more pudding mix to help cover the whole pie without messing up the cream cheese layer. I did not add more milk like others have done because I liked the consistency of the thick pudding mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This is a tasty pie, although the crust doesnt really like me. I think it wasnt cooked enough because it was falling apart really easily and it doesnt stay together when i cut it. Overall, its very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
This was the first pie I ever made and was really excited about it. I did add vanilla and extra milk like other people had suggested. My husband got home and I was so excited to show it off. It was sooooo good, but oddley familiar. My mom made this growing up in a 9/13 pan and called it Four Layer Delight!!! I was planning to take it for Thanksgiving but now I am not so sure, being it was her recipe!! Very, very good, will definitly be making it throughout the years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
I had some issues with the crust. Not sure why, but i ended up getting it to work. It seemed as though it had too much butter and just melted down. Anyway, after getting it to work the pie tasted wonderful. The filling is out of this world! Will make it again, maybe even for Thanksgiving as a new option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
It's a lot like other pies of this type, but the wonderful part is the butter-pecan crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
oh.mi.gosh. I made this for some guy friends and as soon as they took the first bite, their eyes got HUGE and they couldn't stop eating. It seriously tastes like something from a restaurant. I made it the night before and refridgerated it, which worked well. The crust tastes exactly like an Almond Sandies cookie (I added a little brown sugar.) I used 1 1/3 cup milk so the chocolate layer would be a bit bigger but other than that, no changes. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paola, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
This was very tasty and held up nicely to lighter ingredients (neufchatel instead of regular cream cheese and light cool whip). I also used a small box of pudding and 1 3/4 cps of 1 %milk. Rich without being heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
I had taken this to family gathings and everyone loved it. I have been asked for the recipe from several family members. I will be making this again. Very outstanding recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARRIETTE77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States