Chocolate Layered Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Everyone loves it...it looks so nice....I hate to tell them how easy this pie is to make--and how hard some of the non-favorites were!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I would say this definitely makes too much for a 9" pie pan. I had to remove some of the cream cheese layer to make it fit. I will make it in a 9"x13" pan next time. It is also very rich, but still a good dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I LOVE this recipe. My mom has been making it for years. The perfect pie. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
Great recipe. I was looking all over for this recipe and am so glad to have found it! I use real whipped cream instead of Cool Whip (I think it tastes better plus you're not eating whipped corn syrup!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess of her Castle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Yum Yum! I made for a friends birthday and she loves it. I used sugar free chocolate pudding...it was all i had and it still was good. The crust was a titch hard to cut with a fork. I would not cook as long the next time..maybe until the crust was light light brown. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly as written except I used a store-bought Oreo crust. I can understand that using less milk in the pudding mix makes for a thicker chocolate, however it was almost impossible to spread over the pie without breaking into the cheese layer below. I am not sure if reducing/eliminating the confectioner's sugar would mess up the bottom layer's consitency, but the bottom of the pie was too uncomfortably sweet to enjoy. I might make this again with some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Must have been a typo, do you know what you get when you add 2/3 cup milk to 5.9 oz of chocolate pudding? a whisk full of !! it should read 2 2/3 cup milk. dont you test theese before you let them be posted?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
This was a great pie although next time I think I will go with a Graham cracker crust. I really didn't care much for the pecan crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMDAD4KIDDIES

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I made this twice over Thanksgiving week, and it got raves from everyone. I did adapt it slightly with some of the modifications suggested by others: 1 and 1/3 cup milk in the pudding, Heath bits sprinkled over the cream cheese layer and on top of the pie. Plus a few more pecans in the crust than were called for. I give it four stars only because I prefer dense, heavier desserts, and this is definitely on the fluffy side with all the whipped topping. But that's clearly only a matter of my personal preference, since my friends all asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
This pie was awesome! I added 1/4 cup sugar to the crust and used 1 1/3 cups of milk in the pudding layer. The crust was so good. Next time I might try brown sugar in the crust. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States