Chocolate Layered Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Wow!!! Great recipe and really easy! It tastes like it's from a restaurant. I read other reviews, but made no big changes other than using two 4oz boxes of pudding instead of one 6oz box. Consequently, I changed the milk amount to 1 cup. I think the pudding is supposed to have a very thick consistency for flavor and to help the pie hold shape. I used a spatula and my fingers to spread the pudding layer. The best part by far was the crust! I didn't have pecans so I used mostly crushed walnuts with some macadamia nuts and pecans too. Fabulous and Easy!! I will use this crust for many other pies to come! My only complaint is that there was no estimate of time for browning the crust, so I had to check on it repeatedly. It ended up taking around 40 minutes to brown in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Excellent - this is so easy and everyone loves it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Very Delicious! I will definitely be making this again! The crust was what made it outstanding! Be warned that it does taste more like a cheesecake than a pie, but it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melzee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
The flavor of the pie is great, but it doesn't hold well at all. I had to put it in the freezer overnight to get a decent firmness. Before I did so, every slice toppled over, and the whipped topping literally oozed out like liquid all over the pie and plate. It NEEDS to be put in the freezer, not the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Very easy to make and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Great chocolate pie. I made a graham cracker crust instead of the nut crust, but it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This was an excellant recipe. I did add the teaspoon of vanilla to the cream cheese and I made the pudding at directed on the package. I also used a graham cracker crust instead of making my own. And put chopped pecans on top. It was very easy and very delicious!! I also added another box of pudding for an even fuller pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This pie is the best pie I have ever eaten. My family begs me to make this for every get together. My mom wants the recipe for her Birthday party tomorrow. A++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Very good! My son asked for this pie for Christmas dinner--he really loved it. I took the advice of others and used 1 1/3 cups milk for the pudding--and this was a perfect consistency for the chocolate pudding. I also added vanilla per the suggestion of others to the cream cheese mixture. The only problem that I had was the crust stuck to the bottom of the pie plate--I used a glass plate so maybe that was the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I added 1 1/3 c milk to the pudding and it was so thick the mixture worked its way all the way up my beaters. Next time I will add more milk and some sugar to the crust. But overall, this was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States