Chocolate Layered Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This recipe has been in our family for many years now! It is always requested at holidays!!! I add a teaspoon of vanilla to the cream cheese mixture and I make the pudding according to directions on the package. You must follow the directions in this recipe to get the best crust!!! Pecans are a must! Absolutely delicious!!! For the one review that said it was runny and needed to be kept in the freezer, the only possible explanation I could have is that they used the whipped stuff in a can...not "COOL WHIP"...it makes a big difference. The stuff in the can does not hold together. I've tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CrdsGrl
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Always have my family rate recipes and this one was a 9.5! Can't go wrong with the recipe. The only thing i did differently was use some graham cracker crumbs in the crust mixture and made my own whipped cream (always better than store bought). Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrdsGrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Wow!!! Great recipe and really easy! It tastes like it's from a restaurant. I read other reviews, but made no big changes other than using two 4oz boxes of pudding instead of one 6oz box. Consequently, I changed the milk amount to 1 cup. I think the pudding is supposed to have a very thick consistency for flavor and to help the pie hold shape. I used a spatula and my fingers to spread the pudding layer. The best part by far was the crust! I didn't have pecans so I used mostly crushed walnuts with some macadamia nuts and pecans too. Fabulous and Easy!! I will use this crust for many other pies to come! My only complaint is that there was no estimate of time for browning the crust, so I had to check on it repeatedly. It ended up taking around 40 minutes to brown in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Excellent - this is so easy and everyone loves it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Very Delicious! I will definitely be making this again! The crust was what made it outstanding! Be warned that it does taste more like a cheesecake than a pie, but it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melzee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
The flavor of the pie is great, but it doesn't hold well at all. I had to put it in the freezer overnight to get a decent firmness. Before I did so, every slice toppled over, and the whipped topping literally oozed out like liquid all over the pie and plate. It NEEDS to be put in the freezer, not the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Very easy to make and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Great chocolate pie. I made a graham cracker crust instead of the nut crust, but it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This was an excellant recipe. I did add the teaspoon of vanilla to the cream cheese and I made the pudding at directed on the package. I also used a graham cracker crust instead of making my own. And put chopped pecans on top. It was very easy and very delicious!! I also added another box of pudding for an even fuller pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This pie is the best pie I have ever eaten. My family begs me to make this for every get together. My mom wants the recipe for her Birthday party tomorrow. A++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States