Chocolate Layered Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I have been looking for this since the 80's.. no kidding! Thank you... btw,this is also known as 4 step dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
gotta score this recipe low because of the milk error. if it hadn't been for the comments, it would have ruined the entire pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Living In: Bonaire, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This recipe is much richer than the other versions I've had of this at potluck's. I just made this last night and seriously, it comes out to be 2/3 cream cheese/cool whip mixture to 1/3 pudding. In my opinion, I think it needs to be the other way around (2/3 pudding, 1/3 cream cheese) so that you're not overwhelmed with this almost sickeningly-sweet cream cheese mixture, but hey, that's just my opinion. Next time I make this, I will definitely cut in half the cream cheese mixture. Also, follow the advice of others and do 1 1/2 - 1 1/3 cup milk instead of 2/3 cup. Just use as much milk as you prefer the consistency for. 1 1/2 cups milk is still PLENTY thick. Good luck!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyful81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Love the cream cheese and chocolate together in this pie. Will definately make it again. I used about a cup of milk in the pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
this tastes just like a pie my grandma makes! the crust is amazing all on it's own!! i added a tsp vanilla to the cream cheese mixture as someone else suggested. wish i had toasted some pecans and coconut to go on top.....will def do that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Just added a 1/4 cup sugar to the crust. Awesome pie, will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spacek
Home Town: Phillips, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Yummy - This was very tasty... I did make one shortcut ... used a store bought graham cracker crust. Also increased the milk in the pudding to 1 1/2 cups (used 2%). Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This pie is a total hit!!! It will definately have to be a regular on the holiday dinner table!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Definite typo-on the milk- I use 2 small packages of instant pudding and 3 cups milk. I've been making this recipe for years and everyone raves about it. I toast 1/2 cup pecans, 1/2 cup coconut flakes and a little butter, cool and sprinkle on top. For potlucks I bake in 9 X 13 pan- it's easier to serve and goes further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This pie is to die for! The recipe says 5.9oz. pkg instant chocolate pudding mix , which is a powder mix, which requires 2/3 cups of milk to make a pudding in the recipe. Not instant pudding. Hope this helps .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allen J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States