Chocolate Layered Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This is sweet and indulgent, but very good. The other reviewers are right - the butter pecan crust really is amazing and makes this a stand-out. Otherwise, it's really just pudding, sugary cream cheese, and whipped cream (which--don't get me wrong--is delicious!). I made these adjustments: For the crust, I substituted half of the flour with graham cracker crumbs and added some sugar. It was hard to decide when to take it out of the oven. When I did, it was still kind of smushy, and only slightly brown. It turned out great though. I did as others recommended and cut in half everything involved with the cream cheese mixture part. A better ratio that way. I layered bits of toffee (about half of a Heath bag) on top of the cream cheese mixture. I used two 5.9 oz boxes of pudding mix and 2 and 2/3 cup milk. Worked great. I hate the artificialness of Cool Whip, so I made freshly whipped cream - If you haven't made it before, it is SO easy - look it up. You just need almost a whole 16 oz container of heavy cream (or whipping cream), some vanilla, and some sugar. I put toffee bits and chocolate shavings (just get a Hersheys bar and shave it with a vegetable peeler) on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Another reviewer was right. 2/3 C. milk cannot be correct. My mom gave me a similar recipe 20 years ago that calls for 2 3-oz. pkgs chocolate pudding mixed with 3 C. milk. THAT is correct. Mom's recipe also has 2 T. sugar in the crust mix. I use chopped walnuts in the crust, instead of pecans. Chilling 1.2 - 2 hours is preferred, but not necessary at all. It's nice to top the top layer with chopped nuts and shaved chocolate for a pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I made this pie for Christmas, it was gone in a flash, I did change it a little, I used a boughten pie crust, I used 2 puddings and 1 3/4 cups of milk, I used chopped almonds instead of pecans, I put those on top of pudding. Thank you for sharing this recipe, I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This pie is HEAVEN. I use the same recipe, but put in 9x13 pan. No adjustments needed, just a thinner crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squirrel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perham, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hawley, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This was pretty good! Everyone else loved it too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Wert, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Made for Thanksgiving dinner. Everyone loved it. I used more milk in the chocolate pudding than called for. What a great pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fatbobswife1969

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Great pie - I agree with other reviews. Needs much more than 2/3 cup of milk to chocolate pudding. I used 1 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Portersville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I loved this pie!! Except for a couple minor changes. I added some oreo cookies into the crust, and a little less butter! Amazing! And extra milk in with the pudding. And nuts and chocolate syrup on the top! :) Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
My 4 year old and I just made this tonight! We had alot of fun. I would warn that the cream cheese filling is THICK and be careful when spreading as to not break your crust. We used an oreo crust in place of pecan. I also added a layer of mini chocolate chips before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myra Oppy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
The milk amount needed to be changed to 1cup at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States