Chocolate Kiss Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I thought these were very good. I used my food chopper to finely chop the walnuts, which made them the perfect size (almost a mince). My only problem, which was easily fixed, is that i have a tendency to make BIG cookies. I found after my first batch that I used too much dough around the kiss, resulting in a palm size flat cookie with a hump in the middle. After that I used just enough to cover the candy and they then came out like the picture. This is a crisp cookie--not chewy at all, and not too sweet. the candy inside is a great balance for flavors. Edit,one year later: I just made these again for Christmas adn they turned out even better than last year! I followed the recipe EXACTLY as it was written. Last year I subbed butter for margarine, and I think that was a mistake! These cookies help their shape and barely spread at all using the margarine. My hubby calls me a "butter snob" because that is usually the only thing I buy. I'm not even sure what made me change my mind and get margarine this year, but it was definitely worth it! I'll be using margarine in these form now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
Besides the two hour wait period, it was very quick. I did, however, had to add about 1/4 cup of milk to the dough because it was a bit dry. They were very good and easy for anyone to make. Just don't be fooled if they don't looked completely cooked as I almost was. 15 minutes is fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNYJENN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
Not as tasty as I would have expected. It was missing something. Also, found the dough to be really dry and crumbled when wrapping around the chocolate kiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
My only problem with these was there wasn't enough of them! They are wonderful, I am making my 2nd batch today, only more of them. I did not roll in the icing sugar, instead just popped a little piece of marachino cherry in the top while still warm, and they were quite pretty and festive. I also used pecans instead of walnuts (don't like walnuts), and they were just dee-lish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
These came out great. A little TOO rich/ greasy for my liking but everyone else adored them. I used almond bits in stead of walnuts. They tasted great with the kiss inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cberrios

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Amazing! I made this and eveyone at work raved. Will include in my holiday plates as gifts. I loved the hershey's kisses w/ almonds and the hugs for the middle. Did not change recipe at all except for used butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by olganydia
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
they came out awsome, perfect shape and flavor! I used "hugs" instead of chocolate kisses, the combination with the cookie dough is perfect. At first after the time asked you think that they are not done, but they are! you just have to take them of the oven and let them sit for 5 to 10 min then they are prefect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by olganydia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
If your a chocolate lover like I am, then these cookies are for you. These cookies are very delicious and easy to prepare.-- Velma Elaine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
This is a great recipe!! They look and taste great!! Would't change a thing. You could even use red and green sugar to roll them in to make them seasonal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
These were excellent and fun to make with my best friend's 5 year old son. I followed the recipe exactly to the letter. I had made some others and didn't allow the dough to chill and had a rough time with it. This year, using this recipe, it was much easier! I like that the dough isn't too sweet, allowing the chocolate kiss to give almost all of the sweetness to the cookie. I also left the nuts out for one batch and they came out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States