Chocolate Italian Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
After making some of the changes recommended by previous reviewers and adding some of my own, this absolutely gets 5 stars!! Definitely double cocoa in cake, also add a tsp or two of instant espresso (or coffee) to buttermilk. Add 2 or 3 squares of melted chocolate to frosting depending on your tastes (mmm...heaven). Process nuts and coconut until they're finely ground before adding to batter. Do not add pecans to frosting, rather press finely chopped pecans into the sides of frosted cake - looks bakery-quality and adds great texture. Decoratively pipe leftover frosting on top of cake and garnish with chocolate-covered expresso beans. This is a dessert to die for!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
The only difference between this recipe and the one I've used for years is the addition of the 1/4c cocoa powder in the cake and in the icing. What a wonderful variation. I really like how mild the chocolate flavor is...some reviewers said they added more, but I wouldn't change a thing. I also followed the hint about topping it off with almonds...such a beautiful presentation, I took a picture of it. I made this cake for my hubby's birthday and he couldn't get enough. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2000
This is a very rich cake but it uses cocoa and not much of it, and so is not as chocolatey as I'd prefer--I figure that if I'm going to go off my diet it had better be for exactly what I'm craving! Anyway, I made it a second time with modifications: doubled the cocoa, dissolved a couple of teaspoons of instant coffee in the buttermilk before adding, and also melted three square of unsweetened baking chocolate to add to the frosting. Then it was perfect for my taste. The frosting amount is generous, and it makes a very lovely three-layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
This cake rules. I had never made an Italian Creme Cake before (and I am Italian) but this was really simple and tasted like a dream. My sister and I whipped this together for a party and everybody loved it. We will be making it again for our Christmas gathering. Thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
We served a variety of Italian desserts at my wedding dinner, some baked by friends and family, others by professional bakers. This one ,which my mother made, was by far the best. Everyone, even the other bakers, raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Absolutely wonderful. I did not use the coconut or pecans due to allergies, but it was still a fabulous chocolate cake! I split each layer in half and frosted with the chocolate cream cheese icing. I then topped it with shaved chocolate. Beautiful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I have made this cake twice and both times it has been amazing great tasting and so moist. The only thing I did different is not put the pecans in the frosting, to me it is harder to frost. I can't wait for another special occasionto make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This is the exact recipe I found in the Austin Statesman nearly 25 years ago and have been making on and off ever since. Great recipe as is without modification. Well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Wonderful, not too sweet or chocolatey or anything, everything came out perfectly! Made for my mother's birthday; she and my father are still raving about it days later. I did follow what another user did, and did not mix the pecans in with the frosting, but put them on the top and sides. Looks very pretty when done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
This turned out perfect. I didnt have any pecans, so I used walnuts, instead, but it was still wonderful. And the icing!! It was unbelievable!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roan Mountain, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States