Chocolate Italian Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Destiny
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I made this for my family for Christmas Eve. On accident I used whipping cream instead of buttermilk and the cake still turned out wonderfully. I also used the recommendations of other users and doubled the chocolate in the cake. I added the melted chocolate to the frosting and instead of adding the pecans to the frosting I put one cup of pecans and one cup of coconut in the food processor and used the mixture to decorate the sides of the cake. The cake was a hit at my family's dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Great recipe, and easy to follow. The only change I made was to add a splash of coffee to the icing, since I thought it was a bit stiff and was worried about the cake tearing as I spread the icing. The mocha flavor was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Excellent! I'm so happy I found this recipe! I was looking for a German Chocolate cake recipe that called for cocoa powder instead of chocolate squares (which I never have!). This was perfect for German Chocolate Cake. I just didn't add the coconut and pecans to the cake... Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNIEM68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I made this cake today. It is good but not as good as the original Italian Cream Cake. I agree with the gal that said she likes chocolate cake and she likes Italian Cream cake but not the two mixed together. It is very good - just not my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
Absolutely delicious and beautiful to look at, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I don't usually give bad reviews but I did not care for this cake. The only reason I gave it 3 stars is because others thought it was OK. I will NEVER make this cake again. If I want Italian Cream I will make that if I want Chocolate I will make that - they don't mix well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
this was a pretty good cake. it took a lot longer then 25 minutes though, more like an hour. also, i think the frosting tasted a little to much like cream cheese, so i recomend only about 3/4 cup, instead of a cup. i love pecans, so i also added 1 1/2 cups, instead of just one. except for that, i thought this was a pretty good cake! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Absolutely wonderful. I did not use the coconut or pecans due to allergies, but it was still a fabulous chocolate cake! I split each layer in half and frosted with the chocolate cream cheese icing. I then topped it with shaved chocolate. Beautiful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This was great! Reminded me of a German chocolate cake all mixed together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Wonderful, not too sweet or chocolatey or anything, everything came out perfectly! Made for my mother's birthday; she and my father are still raving about it days later. I did follow what another user did, and did not mix the pecans in with the frosting, but put them on the top and sides. Looks very pretty when done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States