Chocolate Italian Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This was delicious! I made it with 2 layers of coconut chocolate chip ice cream and froze it, and it hit the spot on a hot summer day! It isn't as chocolaty as cake from a box, but I liked how it wasn't "in your face" chocolate because you could really taste the pecans and coconut. I will definitely make this again and play with what I put in the layers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HannahMac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This cake is absolutely delicious. I added a small can of crushed pineapple and really added to it. I also might try raisins the next time. My daughter, whose favorite cake was red velvet, said this replaced it, and is now her most favorite cake of all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Kind of difficult to make, but sooooo good and rich. The family loved it. I made it for Christmas. Definitely double the cocoa! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Porte, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
A delicious rich chocolate cake, but not really an Italian cream cake. I doubled the amount of cocoa in the cake and the icing. As I can't stand the texture of coconut, I used coconut extract instead. The icing is the most delicious icing I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
The frosting was so creamy. this is a great recipe. Really easy to prepare. My family enjoy it so well next time i well bake two or three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Forrest City, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This is a great cake! I'm not sure what about it makes it "italian"; but it is delicious. Not too sweet; the icing is "to die for"! This will go in my file of favorites! (Note: next time I make this: put buttered parchment paper in the pan. I guess I left it cooling too long in the pan before I removed. It got stuck!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
it was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dareutruth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
it looks pretty good but i think you need to be more descriptive about whats in i would like more information me being a very experienced cook i think that it would help. It looks very god. I tried your recipe and it is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I followed some of the other suggestions to double the cocoa in the cake. But it still didn't seem like it was chocolatey enough. If I make it again, I will heat the buttermilk and add the cocoa to it, since sometimes the cakes are more chocolatey when the cocoa is "activated" first. The cake almost seemed a little bit dry and crumbly, but then again, I like my cakes a bit more dense and fudgy. I also didn't have 3 cake pans, so I divided the batter between 2 pans instead. I ended up having to bake them for 40-45 minutes. That also could have led to the cakes being more crumbly than desired. :) The frosting, on the other hand, was AMAZING! I think that I will make the frosting again for all my chocolate cakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krismrich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Robbinsdale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ham Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States