Chocolate Italian Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
substituted walnuts for pecans because that's what I had on hand. Still wonderful. My husband took it to work and I had many request by the other men for the recipe to give to their wives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
Great cake!!! Made it for a co-workers birthday, and everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VANMAN
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
Wow! This the first cake that I've ever made, and it turned out great! Everyone loved it. I doubled the cocoa, as was mentioned by others. The only things that could have gone better were that I could have put more icing in between the layers, and it was a bit tall. Even without those improvements, it turned out to be delicious and handsome. Thanks to however submitted this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
This cake is fabulous! I took suggestions and doubled the cocoa. However, it no longer tastes like an Italian cream cake. It is just a fantastic chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
I made this cake for Thanksgiving. Once I chopped the nuts, sifted the flour and confectioner's sugar, and measured everything; the cake was easy to put together. My family absolutely loved it. The only big chocolate lover in the family is me, but they were all crazy about it. I did doubled the recipe on cocoa, but I think I'm going to try it again with chocolate squares. I got the coconut at a health food store, so it wasn't sweetened. It's a terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
We served a variety of Italian desserts at my wedding dinner, some baked by friends and family, others by professional bakers. This one ,which my mother made, was by far the best. Everyone, even the other bakers, raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2001
This is a delicious cake and is now my favorite. Definitely double the amount of cocoa. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2001
This is moist, chocolatey and delicious. Tastes similar to German chocolate cake with chocolate icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
Delicious...takes a little extra time but wonderful flavor/texture. I increased the amount of cocoa also, after reading others comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2000
This cake recipe is one of the best. I have very discriminating friends and family when it comes to food, and this cake is on the top of their lists! It takes a while to make but is worth it for special occasions and is now an anticipated event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States