Chocolate Italian Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
I am so excited about this recipe. I have never made a homemade cake before- but this turned out perfectly!! The cake is so moist, and the frosting is amazing!I didn't add pecans to the frosting- instead I pressed sliced almonds into the frosting- it made the cake very beautiful. Next time I think that I will add more cocoa after reading the reviews. I am taking it for Thanksgiving dinner tomorrow- I am sure it will be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
This cake has a very good taste, however I had a very crumbly cake. It was very hard to stack and frost. I followed the recipe to a tee. I probably wouldn't make it again,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RATHBUN

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
fantastic taste and texture, but wow, watch out for the fat, carbs and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quispamsis, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
Firt time I made this cake I took it to a party and it was gone in no time. One of the best cakes I have ever had. I thought about taking this recipe and the regular Italian Cream Cake recipe and making one cake either chocolate or white. It's a thought. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve Bertuco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
My daughter made this for a project for her high school Italian cake. Her teacher who is from Milan thought it was delicious and authentic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
I baked this cake in two 10" cake pans and cut each cake to make four layers. I doubled the cocoa in the cake and the icing. I also made extra icing for the cake. Excellent recipe!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
i like it this recipe. a little rich but good. my husband on the other hand loves it. have to watch with the powdered sugar to make sure the icing doesn't get to thick though. people in my family love it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
The Ladies at my church were having Italian night so I thought I would make a Italian Dessert. I found a Chocolate Italian Cream Cake submitted by Holly that sounded really good. Well I made it and all the ladies thought it was wonderful it was all ate, it was truly a wonderful cake I give it 5 stars, and I am not even Italian. VERY GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matthews, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
After making some of the changes recommended by previous reviewers and adding some of my own, this absolutely gets 5 stars!! Definitely double cocoa in cake, also add a tsp or two of instant espresso (or coffee) to buttermilk. Add 2 or 3 squares of melted chocolate to frosting depending on your tastes (mmm...heaven). Process nuts and coconut until they're finely ground before adding to batter. Do not add pecans to frosting, rather press finely chopped pecans into the sides of frosted cake - looks bakery-quality and adds great texture. Decoratively pipe leftover frosting on top of cake and garnish with chocolate-covered expresso beans. This is a dessert to die for!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
Thanks for everyone's great comments - I, too, added more chocolate. This was my first cake and it got rave reviews. There's still a bit left after two days and it hasn't dried out! (Yes, I'm keeping it in a tupperware, but still!) If I were to make any changes next time, I would add bits of shaved semisweet chocolate to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States