Chocolate Italian Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I had so much fun making this cake. I took the advice and doubled the chocolate power and it came out great. Served it on two separate occasions and everyone was amazed with how good it taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Delicious!! That's what everyone told me a when I made it. Best chocolate cake ever, I added 1/4 c of heavy cream to the frosting and whip it for about 5 min to make it more fluffy and less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dawne Magee
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I made this and took it to the office, it didn't last very long! I forgot to use egg whites, but it still came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawne Magee
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This cake was great! I had to have a dessert for a potluck with Italian food, and this was a big hit. I don't usually go to the trouble to make layer cakes, but this one was worth it. I did double the cocoa in the cake, and added 2 squares of unsweetened chocolate to the frosting because I like chocolate. I have made it twice now and it is so good. The cake held together very well and the frosting was thick, but spread on the cake perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ozark, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
It was too dry. Couldn't really taste the coconut or pecans. The icing really benefited from 3 ounces of additional semisweet bakers chocolate melted. Would look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This is an awesome cake and my family and extended family loved it too. My daughter is even thinking about having it for an extra cake for her wedding. Thanks for a great delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This cake is truly delicious. I made two - 1 with 1 without coconut - and they were both hits! Cake is dense - certainly not a box cake mix! Cake also tastes better after refrigeration when it has had time to settle - especially in humid weather. I doubled the icing - friends have been eating the rest with spoons... Decorated with nuts. I will make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roslyn Hazen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lake Country, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Really tasty, moist, dense cake. Exactly what I wanted. Took advice of other reviewers and doubled the cocoa in the cake batter. Also I basically just made a cream cheese icing, just 'cause it suits my family's taste. Didn't use nuts and coconut due to allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
It was really good. I omitted the coconut and added more chocolate. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States