Chocolate Italian Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I got this recipe from my Southern Living magazine and this is the same. IT IS SO GOOD!!!! I mean, it is addictive. I like it as is because I really enjoy the light airy chocolate flavor so I don't change a thing. Everyone raved over it. It was gone in 24 hours. I will DEFINATELY be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kurlyy1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
One reviewer mentioned serving this at a wedding. THAT makes loads of sense. For a formal setting, with small bits of this and that, this is a very, very, very, very nice alternative. As for our family - in a family-dessert setting? One of us LOVED this cake (youngest son). Next oldest son loved the texture, BUT wanted way more chocolate (that didn't stop him from eating a substantial wedge!) I agreed that the texture was very nice, BUT that more chocolate would be a 'fuller' experience, but then, I'm experiencing that time in life when I crave chocolate. Dh, who doesn't typically like coconut, could stand this cake in spite of the coconut, but was happy enough to see the fellas take the cake with them when they headed off to see their friends this evening. I was certainly not ashamed to have them sharing this cake. It IS a nice cake. And in a single-type-of-dessert-setting, for those who like a moderate amount of chocolate, it makes all the sense in the world. For the rest of us, if this is the only dessert on the menu, this needs to have no chocolate, or gobs or chocolate - either way would be sublime for anyone methinks, even if some love the cake as is (which is great for them). The texture, again, was very, very wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I made this into 28 cupcakes and they are fabulous! Great, thick batter that bakes up nicely. Luscious frosting adds just the right amount of tang. Love the crunch of the pecans in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I doubled the cocoa in the cake, added a small amount of coffee grounds to the buttermilk, and included a splash more buttermilk in the batter to compensate for the extra dry ingredients. I made a half recipe and baked it in an 8x8 Pyrex dish for @42 minutes. For the frosting, I nearly doubled the cocoa, added @2 oz. melted semisweet chocolate, and beat in 2-3 tablespoons of heavy cream to smooth out the consistency (it was looking rough). Normally I go for deep chocolate in cakes. This was a very nice lighter offering. I really enjoyed the coconut and pecans in the cake, plus the pecans in the frosting. It had a great medium-sized, moist crumb. I think this is the first cake I've made that used shortening and whipped egg whites. Wondering how much these two things had to do with how well this cake came together. This is the second cake I've tried with chocolate cream cheese frosting, and I can now say with certainty that it isn't for me. I like chocolate cheesecake, but not mixed with butter and spread on my chocolate cake. I would make this again, probably with a different icing (or maybe even without). It's a sophisticated enough cake that I might consider making it for special events.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I made this for my mom' birthday. It was wonderful. The cake has a velvety texture. I doubled the cocoa in the cake and frosting. Making another today for my father in law's birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This is the exact recipe I found in the Austin Statesman nearly 25 years ago and have been making on and off ever since. Great recipe as is without modification. Well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I have made this cake twice and both times it has been amazing great tasting and so moist. The only thing I did different is not put the pecans in the frosting, to me it is harder to frost. I can't wait for another special occasionto make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CandelB
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Made it twice, once as a layer cake with the coconut and once as a sheet cake without the coconut. Liked it better without coconut, but then again, I am not a fan of coconut. Cake was really good but the frosting was awesome!! Made extra so I would have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I have made this cake several times with rave reviews. I have made as a three layer cake and also in a sheet pan, both versions turned out great. This cake is not as heavy as some of the italian cream cake recipes --- a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Fabulous! Just fine as it is! It's a nice light chocolate flavor - not meant to be super chocolate like regular chocolate cake. Some people had said it turned out dry and crumbly, but I think that's from doubling the cocoa powder, so if you want to do that I would maybe add a little extra buttermilk to moisten it a bit. I followed the recipe exactly as it is written and it wasn't dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States