Chocolate Irish Car Bomb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
A really unique, tasty cake! My only criticism is that the Irish cream layer was a funny texture - it didn't really blend up to a creamy consistency. Is there a difference between irish cream and irish cream liquer? Not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wanderterp
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Delicious, rich cake! It was a real crowd pleaser for St Patty's Day brunch. I ended up mistakenly using cake mix that had pudding in it (and still used the pudding mix)--no issues!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This cake was amazing! I could probably have left the glaze to get a little bit thicker but it was delicious nevertheless. Super moist and very easy to put together. I found the alcohol wasn't as overpowering as I thought it would be (such a relief!), but it really makes the cake stand out. This is definitely going to become a staple of my recipe box :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This was great, a bit more complicated , but so worth the compliments. The alcohol is actually more obvious in the filling, than the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
The cake was good, but I was really disappointed by the sugar glaze. It came out grainy even though I followed the directions. I'm not sure what I did wrong. I used butter as specified, white sugar (Domino's brand), and Irish Whiskey (Jameson's). Did anyone else have this problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This cake is evn better (I know- it hardly seems possible!) if you use half the ammt of crm cheese and substitute marscapone for the other half. All marscapone does not work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Be careful; the effects of the alcohol do NOT bake out in the oven. At least, I felt it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I was a little disappointed in the flavors in this, not very strong infact it pretty much passed for a chocolate cake withcreamcheese in it. will be making some flavor changes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I should have taken a picture! The layers were pretty and the cake moist and delicious. The stout beer, whiskey, and irish cream were not overpowering so non-beer drinkers loved it too. It was a big hit at the St. Pattys day party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NLSHILLINGS
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was really tasty and easy (which is good because I don't really bake much). My guests really enjoyed it as well. I would probably add more bailey's to the cream cheese mixture though. But the cake was super moist and had a great texture and the glaze was really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NLSHILLINGS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Irish Car Bomb

See how to make a stout beer, Irish whiskey, and Bailey’s Irish Cream cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States