Chocolate Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2000
Outstanding!! I did add 1/2 cup of Chocolate cocolate chips to the butter & brown sugar mixture to make it a little more fudgy. It got raves from my company. I will use it frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
It was perfect for a sheet cake. My bunch loved it. I did add 1 extra Tablespoon of cocoa on the recommendation of another user. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
This was a great recipe for icing. It did set up a little fast but if you put it back on the heat for a few seconds, it softens right back up. My dad loved this icing and that is like winning an Oscar. I put it on Carol's Marble Cake (a recipe on this site) and since it was chocolate I thought he wouldn't like it. He loved it. Thanks Chas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
Oh my god!!! This is the best Icing I have ever made. I added more cocoa like the other reviews stated. It melts in your mouth! It wasn't thick enough to spread it on so I just poured it and it set up really fast. I used it as icing for my brownies. The family thought it was the best ever. Thanks for such an easy recipie. I will make this often for my cakes and brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
This is fudge on a cake!! It's great! I added the extra cocoa powder and the 1/2 cup choc chips like other reviewers. It took 2 batches to ice an 8" layer cake. Make one batch at a time and it will work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
This was a great frosting! I did not have cocoa powder, so I used 1/2 oz. unsweetened chocolate, and melted it in with the butter/sugar mixture, along with 1/2 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips. I did not let it boil, b/c of the addition of the chocolate, but it turned out really yummy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
This was excellent! I did as a few of the others did and added 1/2 c semisweet choc chips to the butter and brown sugar mixture (after the sugar melts and you add the milk) and added an additional 1 T cocoa. FYI, icing is best for brownies, cookies and SHEET cakes, as was stated by the submitter of the recipe, for layer cakes, frostings are better. However if you are looking for a true icing that will wow the most sage chocolate fan...this one is IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOOLGIRL_31

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
Oh my gosh, it was like fudge! I added teh ch chips as suggested. It was a little tricky to work with but worth the effort. I will make again. Might be easier to frost cookies or brownies. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
This a very good icing and easy to make. I added 1 tbsp of cocoa and spread it over warm cake. It was easy to spread and I put pecans on top. My family loved it. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
Good and easy to make. This recipe worked well for me. I did add more cocoa, 2 tbsp more, than the recipe asked for. It is excellent for brownies, it does set very quickly. made again with the same results. I used it as brownie icing. It does have a mapley flavour from the brown sugar and it is fudgey, I really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKYBJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States