Chocolate Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
SO GOOD!!! It needed tweaking for my 2 layer 9 inch cake. If you follow the directions it is VERY thick and hard for icing a cake but great for brownies. For the cake I used 3 Tbsp of milk and 2 tbsp cocoa for a single batch. Because it sets up so quickly I made 2 seperate double batches, one for the middle of the cake using the original thick recipe, frosted it, then made the second double batch tweaked for spreadability for the outside of the cake. It is glorious... and I don't even like chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
This recipe was excellent - I added a few semi-sweet chocolate chips to tbe melted butter and sugar mixture while still warm, and it turned out rich, velvety and chocolatey! I kept the icing in the saucepan while spreading it on the cake, so that when it began to set somewhat, I would just warm it up on minimum heat with a bit more milk and I could continue to work with it. A total hit and a keeper of a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2000
Outstanding!! I did add 1/2 cup of Chocolate cocolate chips to the butter & brown sugar mixture to make it a little more fudgy. It got raves from my company. I will use it frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
tasty. sets pretty firm, very fudgy. Firm enough to crack slightly when cutting my cake. My only complaint was that it was too firm/dry to stick to the cake. I'll try more milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2000
This icing set extremely fast and it was a little difficult to ice a 2-8" round layer cake. It also was more of a maple flavour due the the brown sugar content, but it was very good and I would make it again. Dee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I covered some brownies with this chocolate icing. Quick and easy; very sugary and sweet. The kids loved it. Next time I will add some chocolate morsels - it lack chocolate flavor. In addition, if you wanted to do more than cover a batch of brownies, you will need to double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
You could eat this chocolate right out of the pot ! Will definitely make again- I used 4 tablespoons of milk and poured it over the cake .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
This was a great recipe for icing. It did set up a little fast but if you put it back on the heat for a few seconds, it softens right back up. My dad loved this icing and that is like winning an Oscar. I put it on Carol's Marble Cake (a recipe on this site) and since it was chocolate I thought he wouldn't like it. He loved it. Thanks Chas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
It was perfect for a sheet cake. My bunch loved it. I did add 1 extra Tablespoon of cocoa on the recommendation of another user. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This icing is awesome! I added more milk til it was glossy, then dipped my cupcakes on it while it was hot, and it dried smooth and glazed, very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Koski

Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States