Chocolate Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2000
This icing set extremely fast and it was a little difficult to ice a 2-8" round layer cake. It also was more of a maple flavour due the the brown sugar content, but it was very good and I would make it again. Dee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2000
Outstanding!! I did add 1/2 cup of Chocolate cocolate chips to the butter & brown sugar mixture to make it a little more fudgy. It got raves from my company. I will use it frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
really easy and good. But I'd add a bit more chocolate then called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
the icing hardens so fast, really tought for a 2 layer cake. Will try something more fluffier next time. Good taste but did not complete the job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
It was perfect for a sheet cake. My bunch loved it. I did add 1 extra Tablespoon of cocoa on the recommendation of another user. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
This was a great recipe for icing. It did set up a little fast but if you put it back on the heat for a few seconds, it softens right back up. My dad loved this icing and that is like winning an Oscar. I put it on Carol's Marble Cake (a recipe on this site) and since it was chocolate I thought he wouldn't like it. He loved it. Thanks Chas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
First time i ever made icing myself. I couldn't believe how easy it was. It's delicious! However, it does set really fast making it difficult to ice the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
Oh my god!!! This is the best Icing I have ever made. I added more cocoa like the other reviews stated. It melts in your mouth! It wasn't thick enough to spread it on so I just poured it and it set up really fast. I used it as icing for my brownies. The family thought it was the best ever. Thanks for such an easy recipie. I will make this often for my cakes and brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
This is fudge on a cake!! It's great! I added the extra cocoa powder and the 1/2 cup choc chips like other reviewers. It took 2 batches to ice an 8" layer cake. Make one batch at a time and it will work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
This was a great frosting! I did not have cocoa powder, so I used 1/2 oz. unsweetened chocolate, and melted it in with the butter/sugar mixture, along with 1/2 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips. I did not let it boil, b/c of the addition of the chocolate, but it turned out really yummy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States