Chocolate Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Great for brownies, but hard to spread on cake. Melts in your mouth in a DELICIOUS way. Try 2 Tbs. of chocolate instead of 1 and a bit more milk to make it less thick. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I used this on my two layer chocolate cake. It was excellent. The icing became a little stiff and I added a few extra tablespoons of milk and it became the creamy, spreadable consistency I was looking for. I did read the reviews and decided to add 1/2 cup of chocolate chips...I just love chocolate :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
My confectioners' sugar didn't blend completely. There were clumps I couldn't see until the icing was on the cake. It didn't have much of a chocolate flavor and was more like a glaze. However the taste was not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This icing is very delicious. It is very sweet and is good to use to sweetening up any dessert dish. I made it with a chocolate cake and am thinking about trying a different icing next time. I would have to agree it would go great on a cookie maybe with some coffee (and I'm not even a coffee drinker).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I used this icing simply because I had the ingredients. Based on other reviews, I used 5 tablespoons of milk and 2.5 tablespoons of cocoa. Off the spoon, it tastes great. I took my cake from the oven, poked holes in it and simply poured the icing over my still hot cake. I did keep it on a double boiler when mixing in the icing sugar and cocoa. Hopefully it still firms up, since I did add extra milk. Can't wait to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
i tried this recipe today. It was very easy to follow . But I would add more cocoa powder or melt chocolate chips in it next time. Tasted like a chocolate caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I used this in a layer cake with peanut butter frosting for my boyfriends birthday and he loved it.. I added some chocolate shavings in with it too, tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This is amazing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This is a good icing for cupcakes that need to be transported. (I made it for a school party). It sets to a very firm fudge like consistency. Not as messy as a typical frosting. The taste is a very sweet milk chocolate. (Maybe too sweet for some). I added an extra tablespoon of cocoa powder to mine to counter this a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Amazing!!! I followed a few tips from some of the reviews & added 1/2 C chocolate chips to the butter/brown sugar stage to make it more chocolatey & went with 3T milk & 2T cocoa. It was just enough to pour over my 9x13 pan of brownies, not too dry at all this way...my hubby is in heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palo Cedro, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States