Chocolate Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Best icing ever! I added the 1/2c of chocolate chips to the butter and sugar that others suggested. It's like having fudge on top of my cake! I had to add a little milk to the icing a couple of times as it "set" in the bowl between using it and going back for more. Each time I refreshed it with milk and it set on the cupcakes beautifully smooth again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Too thick and non-spreadable (is that a word?) also, the flavour wasn't my favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I made this and followed the directions exactly...IMO it was way too sweet..not sure where I went wrong but the confectioners sugar became lumpy like miniscule rock candy. Not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Great for brownies, but hard to spread on cake. Melts in your mouth in a DELICIOUS way. Try 2 Tbs. of chocolate instead of 1 and a bit more milk to make it less thick. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I used this on my two layer chocolate cake. It was excellent. The icing became a little stiff and I added a few extra tablespoons of milk and it became the creamy, spreadable consistency I was looking for. I did read the reviews and decided to add 1/2 cup of chocolate chips...I just love chocolate :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
My confectioners' sugar didn't blend completely. There were clumps I couldn't see until the icing was on the cake. It didn't have much of a chocolate flavor and was more like a glaze. However the taste was not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This icing is very delicious. It is very sweet and is good to use to sweetening up any dessert dish. I made it with a chocolate cake and am thinking about trying a different icing next time. I would have to agree it would go great on a cookie maybe with some coffee (and I'm not even a coffee drinker).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I used this icing simply because I had the ingredients. Based on other reviews, I used 5 tablespoons of milk and 2.5 tablespoons of cocoa. Off the spoon, it tastes great. I took my cake from the oven, poked holes in it and simply poured the icing over my still hot cake. I did keep it on a double boiler when mixing in the icing sugar and cocoa. Hopefully it still firms up, since I did add extra milk. Can't wait to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Hobson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
i tried this recipe today. It was very easy to follow . But I would add more cocoa powder or melt chocolate chips in it next time. Tasted like a chocolate caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I used this in a layer cake with peanut butter frosting for my boyfriends birthday and he loved it.. I added some chocolate shavings in with it too, tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States