Chocolate Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Many of these comments are right on. There is not really enough icing to make a cake, it is not chocolaty enough, and it sets quickly. I would not use it for a cake (though if you were fast enough, I think it would be good). I used it to ice some pumpkin cookies (it would also be good for iced doughnuts). I made the following modifications. Instead of some of the milk I added creme de cocoa (liquor), cayenne pepper (the aztecs were geniuses with chocolate), some pepper (it played well with the pumpkin cookies, and honey instead of sugar (mmmm...honey). It turned out well. Was relatively happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This is really good! I read most of the reviews, so I added 1 tbsp each of cocoa and milk. And, I worked really fast. I love this site! Thanks everybody!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laney Marie
Home Town: Bridgeton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Fantastic... the only change I would make is to double it.. I was just able to cover a sheet cake.. so if I used this for cupcakes as originally planned I would have run short. Great flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This really was great, first time I ever made homeade chocolate icing for for a cake,although usually make my cakes from scratch! Anyway totally awesome..I did as others suggested just added a little more milk as needed and kept it on the stove to keep warm!! wish ya'll could see my cake..its beautiful :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIzzBakerReyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Really melty so i added more powdered sugar, then it turned out way too hard and way too sugary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
You could eat this chocolate right out of the pot ! Will definitely make again- I used 4 tablespoons of milk and poured it over the cake .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
So...if you drop in a handful of semi-sweet choc chips and follow the rest o the recipe, you will have made fudge. I kept the milk out and kept adding a splash, mixing furiously, add another splash, mix like hell... and another splash- ok now I have icing. But I was too chicken to ruin my gorgeous black forest cake so I only iced one half. The rest of the icing went into a small container. Whatever clung to the spoon went into my belly! (With a sprinkle of kosher salt. it's a sickness...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This recipe didn't at all taste like chocolate icing to me, I think it probably needs more cocoa and less brown sugar and butter. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
First the positives- the icing did taste good and was a nice compliment to the yellow cake I made. I did, however, give it a low rating for several reasons. First, the name is deceiving- it does have a hint of chocolate taste to it, but it's far closer to caramel. Additionally, the recipe needs to be instantly doubled to actually cover a cake (round or sheet). Finally, it is wildy difficult to ice a cake with- you have to have it nearly harden before you can even work with it. The consistency was close to that of a soup when I finished making it. Safe to say this is best used on brownies- skip it for a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Tasted like chocolate not icing, it was very hard to spread and i don't think it made enough for an entire cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARLEESMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States