Chocolate Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This tured out really GOOD! i did decided to put them over a batch of brownies...and then i chopped up about 10 hersey kisses and sprinked them over the top once it cooled...easy and fast to make...like it much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by At Home Mommy Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evart, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Absolutely wonderful. Took Triffens advice and added cayenne pepper to choclate it was about 1 tsp and it enhanced the chocolate. Doubled up on milk and confection powder added about 1 cup of brown sugar. Brought mixture to a slight boil and kept stirring poured onto cake and the plate beneath the cake caught remaining icing. Will make again always. Thank you guys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Hall Lynam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hannibal, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
It seemed more like a glaze to me, not an icing. And it was WAY too sweet! Doubt I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
this icing is very very rich. the kids loves the sweetness. I think I will modify next time, but still a pretty great icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I was very disappointed with this recipe. I expect an icing to be pourable and although others said it set up quickly, I expected it to do that when I poured it over the cake. It is not that consisitency at all and I will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Really easy to make and spreads nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This icing is perfect to use with a pound cake... such as the marble pound cake found on this web site. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollis, New York, USA
Living In: Elk Grove Village, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Many of these comments are right on. There is not really enough icing to make a cake, it is not chocolaty enough, and it sets quickly. I would not use it for a cake (though if you were fast enough, I think it would be good). I used it to ice some pumpkin cookies (it would also be good for iced doughnuts). I made the following modifications. Instead of some of the milk I added creme de cocoa (liquor), cayenne pepper (the aztecs were geniuses with chocolate), some pepper (it played well with the pumpkin cookies, and honey instead of sugar (mmmm...honey). It turned out well. Was relatively happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This is really good! I read most of the reviews, so I added 1 tbsp each of cocoa and milk. And, I worked really fast. I love this site! Thanks everybody!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laney Marie
Home Town: Bridgeton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Fantastic... the only change I would make is to double it.. I was just able to cover a sheet cake.. so if I used this for cupcakes as originally planned I would have run short. Great flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States