Chocolate Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
It would get 5 stars for taste but for usability it only get 3 stars. It was very difficult to spread on the sides of a layer cake. Disappointed in the spreadability and found it frustrating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Whoa! Thats sweet! Too sweet for me at least. Lighten up on the sugar and put in more cocoa. Thats the stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flourpuff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Perfect cupcake icing!! Thanks will make this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I made this icing for my brownie cookies. The icing was delicious, but it was not spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Gtz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elma, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Great recipe! While Melting the butter, sugar and adding the milk I added an extra T of milk. I also added an extra 1 1/2 T cocoa as well as substituting the vanilla with some Teaberry extract. Turned out great!! definitely going to make this again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This icing is just great and easy to make. You do have to work quickly as it sets fast. I used it on devils cupcakes with cream made from scratch and used a spatula to spread the icing on the cakes. They were gone in a flash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
This was a wonderful recipe. I made one change however, I used dark brown sugar, and 3 tbls of cocoa, much more chocolaty. Of course I had to add a little more milk. Hint, this should be just barely pourable when finished. Thanks for the great recipe. I used it on brownies, as well as a zuchinni chocolate layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma's Cookhouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Great recipe!! I read a lot of the reviews. Added a bit more coco. Since I was icing cupcakes I made a double boiler and added about a TBSP of shortening. Once I like the consistency I dipped the cupcakes in.. What a GREAT turn out.. will be using this every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Goodwin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Great icing! I used the Black Magic cake recipe for cupcakes and topped them with this icing. It was fantastic! The icing does set quickly so I do think it is more appropriate for things like cupcakes or donuts....but I loved the taste and it was so easy! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura McMullin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
More like a fudge icing. Good but very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States