Chocolate Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Great recipe! While Melting the butter, sugar and adding the milk I added an extra T of milk. I also added an extra 1 1/2 T cocoa as well as substituting the vanilla with some Teaberry extract. Turned out great!! definitely going to make this again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This icing is just great and easy to make. You do have to work quickly as it sets fast. I used it on devils cupcakes with cream made from scratch and used a spatula to spread the icing on the cakes. They were gone in a flash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
This was a wonderful recipe. I made one change however, I used dark brown sugar, and 3 tbls of cocoa, much more chocolaty. Of course I had to add a little more milk. Hint, this should be just barely pourable when finished. Thanks for the great recipe. I used it on brownies, as well as a zuchinni chocolate layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma's Cookhouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Great recipe!! I read a lot of the reviews. Added a bit more coco. Since I was icing cupcakes I made a double boiler and added about a TBSP of shortening. Once I like the consistency I dipped the cupcakes in.. What a GREAT turn out.. will be using this every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Great icing! I used the Black Magic cake recipe for cupcakes and topped them with this icing. It was fantastic! The icing does set quickly so I do think it is more appropriate for things like cupcakes or donuts....but I loved the taste and it was so easy! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMCMULLIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
More like a fudge icing. Good but very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I followed suggestions that others made and this frosting turned out to be pretty good on éclairs. I doubled the cocoa powder and changed the brown sugar to 1/3 cup instead of 1/2, and as I added the powdered sugar mixture I added enough milk to keep the consistency right. It does stiffen up pretty fast, but that's perfect for éclairs because it keeps the frosting from running.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Perfect. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ocean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I discovered this icing recipe about a year and a half ago and have made it many times since then. I play with the proportions and the ingredients sometimes using cocoa and sometimes using Giradelli Ground Chocolate, or using half and half instead of milk. I love this recipe because the basic recipe has such a strong butterscotch taste, not caramel. I believe it is better suited to a brownie or cookie than a cake because it does stiffen so quickly. But that taste just rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Like others I added some chocolate chips so I did like the taste but found it way too hard...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariana

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States