Chocolate Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I really was not fond of this recipe at all. I followed the recipe, but my icing did not taste chocolatey in any way. It tasted more like a very sweet maple icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
i think that this should be called caramel icing - it was good on chocolate cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarbon1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marly
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Since the frosting looks glossy in the photos, I was expecting a creamy consistency. I was surprised when the icing hardened, but not disappointed, as it was absolutely yummy. Love the extra "flavour dimension" added by the brown sugar. I used a few drops of almond extract because I didn't have quite enough vanilla -- the flavour complemented my brownies perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This frosting was ok. It did fine and people did enjoy it but I wasn't overly fancy of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This icing is truly delicious. It has a slight caramel flavor and a surprisingly strong chocolate flavor all at the same time. I used this to ice cream cheese brownies and they are so sweet and yummy. The icing does set up very quickly and at first I had a hard time getting the confectioners sugar to blend in well but I just added a little extra milk as recommended and it turned out beautifully. The icing is almost a fudgy consistency after it cools and if you like sweets as much as my family does, that is a good thing. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LACMOORE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Too sweet and too much brown sugar taste. Definitly not the best for chocolate icing. I tried to use it for 2 dozon cupcakes and it got way to stiff - way too fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
my husband has been talking about his aunts "hard chocolate frosting" forever. well this is the closest we've ever come. I think it needs a lot more chocolate powder, at least double what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Kudos for the creativity...but this recipe falls short! I felt the texture was completely off and far too sweet. I followed the recipe exactly and simply put...WAY to much work for a lack luster icing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
This icing reminded me of the chocolate icing you find on bakery doughnuts. Yummy! I actually used it to frost home made doughnuts so I made it in advance. Reheating helped it spread easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
This icing was fantastic! I had many people say it was the best they had ever tasted. I added in 1/2 C. of semi-sweet chocolate chips like others had done. It had a great chocolate taste even though I had a few lumps of powder sugar. I will mix if faster and add a little more milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States