Chocolate Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Perfect on the "Deep Dish Brownies" on this site. Fudgy-like. It firmed up fairly quickly, therefore made it easy to spread, and not drip off the brownies. I actually found myself scooping up spoonfuls of it up, and eating it. Sinfully good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loribear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I made this last for a french vanilla cake. It was a hit at my house. I also made a change after reading the reviews. I wsed 1/2 cup choclate chips. Wonderful recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by val in oregon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
great frosting! move quickly though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeunit17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ukiah, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
rich and yummy!!! I wouldn't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I really was not fond of this recipe at all. I followed the recipe, but my icing did not taste chocolatey in any way. It tasted more like a very sweet maple icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
i think that this should be called caramel icing - it was good on chocolate cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Bonar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marly
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Since the frosting looks glossy in the photos, I was expecting a creamy consistency. I was surprised when the icing hardened, but not disappointed, as it was absolutely yummy. Love the extra "flavour dimension" added by the brown sugar. I used a few drops of almond extract because I didn't have quite enough vanilla -- the flavour complemented my brownies perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This frosting was ok. It did fine and people did enjoy it but I wasn't overly fancy of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This icing is truly delicious. It has a slight caramel flavor and a surprisingly strong chocolate flavor all at the same time. I used this to ice cream cheese brownies and they are so sweet and yummy. The icing does set up very quickly and at first I had a hard time getting the confectioners sugar to blend in well but I just added a little extra milk as recommended and it turned out beautifully. The icing is almost a fudgy consistency after it cools and if you like sweets as much as my family does, that is a good thing. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LACMOORE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Too sweet and too much brown sugar taste. Definitly not the best for chocolate icing. I tried to use it for 2 dozon cupcakes and it got way to stiff - way too fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States