Chocolate Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Really melty so i added more powdered sugar, then it turned out way too hard and way too sugary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
You could eat this chocolate right out of the pot ! Will definitely make again- I used 4 tablespoons of milk and poured it over the cake .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
So...if you drop in a handful of semi-sweet choc chips and follow the rest o the recipe, you will have made fudge. I kept the milk out and kept adding a splash, mixing furiously, add another splash, mix like hell... and another splash- ok now I have icing. But I was too chicken to ruin my gorgeous black forest cake so I only iced one half. The rest of the icing went into a small container. Whatever clung to the spoon went into my belly! (With a sprinkle of kosher salt. it's a sickness...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This recipe didn't at all taste like chocolate icing to me, I think it probably needs more cocoa and less brown sugar and butter. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
First the positives- the icing did taste good and was a nice compliment to the yellow cake I made. I did, however, give it a low rating for several reasons. First, the name is deceiving- it does have a hint of chocolate taste to it, but it's far closer to caramel. Additionally, the recipe needs to be instantly doubled to actually cover a cake (round or sheet). Finally, it is wildy difficult to ice a cake with- you have to have it nearly harden before you can even work with it. The consistency was close to that of a soup when I finished making it. Safe to say this is best used on brownies- skip it for a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Tasted like chocolate not icing, it was very hard to spread and i don't think it made enough for an entire cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARLEESMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Perfect on the "Deep Dish Brownies" on this site. Fudgy-like. It firmed up fairly quickly, therefore made it easy to spread, and not drip off the brownies. I actually found myself scooping up spoonfuls of it up, and eating it. Sinfully good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loribear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I made this last for a french vanilla cake. It was a hit at my house. I also made a change after reading the reviews. I wsed 1/2 cup choclate chips. Wonderful recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by val in oregon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
great frosting! move quickly though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeunit17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ukiah, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
rich and yummy!!! I wouldn't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States