Chocolate Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I followed suggestions that others made and this frosting turned out to be pretty good on éclairs. I doubled the cocoa powder and changed the brown sugar to 1/3 cup instead of 1/2, and as I added the powdered sugar mixture I added enough milk to keep the consistency right. It does stiffen up pretty fast, but that's perfect for éclairs because it keeps the frosting from running.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Perfect. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ocean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I discovered this icing recipe about a year and a half ago and have made it many times since then. I play with the proportions and the ingredients sometimes using cocoa and sometimes using Giradelli Ground Chocolate, or using half and half instead of milk. I love this recipe because the basic recipe has such a strong butterscotch taste, not caramel. I believe it is better suited to a brownie or cookie than a cake because it does stiffen so quickly. But that taste just rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Like others I added some chocolate chips so I did like the taste but found it way too hard...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I tried this recipe on the moist yellow cake and it came out great. I did add some semi-sweet chocolate chip morsels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Easy, peasy. Quick and very tasty. Does have more of glaze like consistency and does set up quickly. Still, a very nice quick icing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I made this vegan, using vegan margarine and almond milk. It was delicious. I added 1 oz. semisweet chocolate to the butter and brown sugar, and used 3 tbs almond milk. Perfect consistency for cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
pretty good...final consistency was more lik a donut icing...really easy though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amjoy373

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Italiancookiequeen
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This is an excellent icing for kid's cupcakes. It's not messy and does not smear all over. The recipe was simple and the ingredients were a staple in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States