Chocolate Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
I wanted to use this for my Chocolate Gingerbread cut-out cookies. However, the icing was setting up too fast and forming a crust. So to adjust it for cookies, I added 3/4 cup more powdered sugar, 1 Tb more milk, and 1/2 Tb butter. I was then able to frost all my cookies perfectly well and sprinkled them with clear sparking sugar crystals (please note, the icing gets harder as the chocolate in it cools).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE
Reviewed: May 5, 2007
this is a great icing for frosting sugar cookies. It dries very quickly. I would not suggest using this for a cake or cupcakes, as it would be too hard to spread such a large amt. of it. I loved the flavor as well. Used Ghiradelli unsweetened chocolate blocks. Perfect amt. of chocolate. thanks for the easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I used this for a chocolate bundt cake. It came out great for me the first time, I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
the icing came out okay, a little plastic in appearance, and it sets a little too fast. I decided to add 30ml of cream and used a double boiler. the cream was used to smoothen out the graininess from the sugar and to increase fat content to delay setting and increase pourability
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Ivan

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Paranaque, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2002
I must have done something wrong, because this didn't work for me at all. The chocolate wouldn't mix with the sugar, even using a mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This simple and tasty icing is excellent for cookies. It did set up quickly so I just added a bit of milk as I went along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
i didn't feel like going to the store for icing one night and had all the ingredients for this one so i gave it a try! turned out great, and although like the others said it dries kinda fast but still was great for my cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Tastes good, but unfortunately too difficult to work with. Sets up way too quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JXGALIK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
Perfect sugar cooking icing. Takes about 2 minutes to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Fantastic. Makes a lot so I'll only make half a batch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States