Chocolate Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ROSEP47
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
The fast set-up time mentioned by other reviewers suited my need to get some cookies ready to mail in a hurry on a rainy day. However, it set up so fast that it was hard to get sprinkles to stick, even doing one at a time! I think next time I may try adding another tablespoon of milk. This is good tasting icing, and would be ideal, as is, to use as a cookie filling. It was enough for 2 dozen medium cookies. If it was a little thinner, it might be enough to cover quite a few more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEP47

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Perfect! Used cream instead of milk and added just a tiny splash more. Used a silicon spatula to combine till smooth then loaded into decorating bag and piped onto cookies. Worked out great and tasted good too. Used semi-sweet mini-chips since it's what I had. Will absolutely use again to pipe onto cookies, brownies, and other desserts. Seems like it's a bit thick to use as a dipping icing though but could probably just add more milk to thin it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Photo by Lightedway
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This icing is super easy to make plus I always have these ingredients on hand. It's sweet and delicious. It's perfect for cookies. I iced Mrs Sigg's Peanut Butter Cookies (AR recipe) with it and sprinkled chopped peanuts on top. It hardens quickly with a nice glossy look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Fantastic. Makes a lot so I'll only make half a batch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Perfect sugar cookie icing. The consistency was just right and the flavor was really good. I'm not sure why other reviewers had trouble with it setting up too quickly. I was able to ice 2 dozen sugar cookies without a problem. I even made it with baking cocoa instead of real chocolate and was very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I tried to use this for my cake. Spreading it was easy because I did it immediately (and the cake was still a little warm) but we did not like the taste or texture. I got hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This simple and tasty icing is excellent for cookies. It did set up quickly so I just added a bit of milk as I went along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I used this for a chocolate bundt cake. It came out great for me the first time, I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Tastes good, but unfortunately too difficult to work with. Sets up way too quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JXGALIK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
i didn't feel like going to the store for icing one night and had all the ingredients for this one so i gave it a try! turned out great, and although like the others said it dries kinda fast but still was great for my cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States