Chocolate Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
i didn't feel like going to the store for icing one night and had all the ingredients for this one so i gave it a try! turned out great, and although like the others said it dries kinda fast but still was great for my cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE
Reviewed: May 5, 2007
this is a great icing for frosting sugar cookies. It dries very quickly. I would not suggest using this for a cake or cupcakes, as it would be too hard to spread such a large amt. of it. I loved the flavor as well. Used Ghiradelli unsweetened chocolate blocks. Perfect amt. of chocolate. thanks for the easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Quick simple basic Icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lightedway
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This icing is super easy to make plus I always have these ingredients on hand. It's sweet and delicious. It's perfect for cookies. I iced Mrs Sigg's Peanut Butter Cookies (AR recipe) with it and sprinkled chopped peanuts on top. It hardens quickly with a nice glossy look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2002
I must have done something wrong, because this didn't work for me at all. The chocolate wouldn't mix with the sugar, even using a mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Perfect! Used cream instead of milk and added just a tiny splash more. Used a silicon spatula to combine till smooth then loaded into decorating bag and piped onto cookies. Worked out great and tasted good too. Used semi-sweet mini-chips since it's what I had. Will absolutely use again to pipe onto cookies, brownies, and other desserts. Seems like it's a bit thick to use as a dipping icing though but could probably just add more milk to thin it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
Perfect sugar cooking icing. Takes about 2 minutes to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I used this for a chocolate bundt cake. It came out great for me the first time, I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Perfect sugar cookie icing. The consistency was just right and the flavor was really good. I'm not sure why other reviewers had trouble with it setting up too quickly. I was able to ice 2 dozen sugar cookies without a problem. I even made it with baking cocoa instead of real chocolate and was very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Fantastic. Makes a lot so I'll only make half a batch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States