Chocolate Hazelnut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
Delicious! I made this cake for my birthday and my husband and I both really enjoyed it. I used Cool Whip instead of whipping cream. I only used real whipping cream for the 1/4 cup you mix into the melted chocolate chips. The only thing I would change next time would be to use fewer chocolate chips. It was a bit too heavy in the stomach as is. Next time, I'd reduce the chocolate chips to maybe 1 cup or 3/4 cup instead of 1.5 cups. Other than that, a beautiful and delicious cake. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mingry77
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This cake was absolutely exquisite. Everything about this cake was delectable. I particularly enjoyed that this wonderfully chocolate cake was not too heavy. Like another reviewer mentioned -- I recommend letting your cream warm to room temperature before adding it to the chocolate -- or simply heat it in the microwave for a few seconds to warm. This will prevent the chocolate from seizing. One other note, when I chilled the filling for 30 minutes it was way too stiff to spread -- but maybe my refrigerator was too cold. In any case, I would skip that step next time. All in all this was a wonderful recipe and I received nothing but rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mingry77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nico's Mama
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This is a great idea for a cake-mix cake - although I would suggest making the devil's food cake mix to the specifications listed under the "too much chocolate cake" recipe on this site - it uses more oil and some sour cream and insures that the cake will stay moist! Hazelnuts are kind-of pricey and this was a tester cake so I used toasted almonds instead. For frosting I looked at the "cool whipped frosting" recipe from this site but used 8 oz. of fresh cream instead of Cool Whip. I also would recommend, if using that frosting recipe, that you only use HALF the amount of the pudding mix and that you buy instant WHITE CHOCOLATE pudding rather than vanilla. The vanilla gave my cake a yellow-ish tint that I did not like...next time I will use a classic, white buttercream with this cake instead....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nico's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
amazing amazing amazing! I substituted almonds for the hazelnuts and took it to a dinner party... everyone loved it and a few didn't believe it hadn't come from a bakery. this cake is going into my regular rotation! thanks kendra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Delicious cake! I only had two 9" cake pans so I made a 2- instead of 3-layer cake, so the extra filling I spread on top of the cake before frosting it. I didn't have any problem with letting the filling chill completely before spreading it, as some reviewers mentioned. Also, be aware that if you make the frosting as written (NOT with Cool Whip), it won't be sweet, just creamy/nutty. It can be a nice touch to offset all the sweetness of the cake and filling, but just be aware of that. Taste a little while you're whipping the cream and if you don't like it as is, add a pinch or two of white sugar, until it's *just* sweet enough. I left mine as is and feel it's a nice contrast, especially since I don't like super-sweet frostings, but it also would have been good with a small pinch of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This was a wonderful cake! Wasn't too hard to make and turned out perfect the first time. Instead of using the whipping cream for the topping, I folded a teaspoon of almond extract into a tub of Cool Whip with the chopped nuts and it was delicious. One tip is to warm the whipping cream to room temperature before wisking it into the melted chocolate chips (wisking very fast and adding the cream very slowly), this helped keep it smooth. Adding the cream while it was cold made the chocolate sieze up a little and made more of a ganache than a smooth mixture. However, I still crumbled it into the whipped cream and got gooey chocolate bits inside the cream...... YUM! I almost liked it better that way than when I got it right with the second cake! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joesgirljeri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I made this cake for a family dinner and it's the only time a whole cake has been eaten before the end of the day. I usually take a bunch of leftovers home, but not this time. I did add some Nutella to the filling mixture, but it really didnt need it. I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
Looking for a way to "jazz" up a chocolate cake mix? This was delicious. Instead of using the hazelnuts whipping cream (which sounds wonderful) I used the "Fluffy Creamy Icing" found on this site. Tasted great and there were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I was really excited to make this cake for my sister's birthday. I was confident that it would be delicious since it had so many great reviews. I was completely disappointed.The cake was bland and the whipped cream frosting was tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Wonderful! I made it for my husband's birthday and everyone loved it. I did, of course, change it a bit. Instead of water, I added brewed coffee. And for the final frosting, I mixed cream cheese in with the whipped cream for a more substantial icing. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States