Chocolate Hazelnut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
The cake and the filling were wonderful! Good taste and the cake was nice and light. I was not a fan of the whipped cream frosting, though. I thought it would offset the sweetness of the rest of the cake, but instead it was tasteless, and the textures didn't work well together. Next time I'll experiment with a buttercream or cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Loved it!! Although I did make a change or two the second time, not that the original recipe needed it. I added two TBSP of peanut butter to some cool whip for the topping ( I didn't have the called for ingredients) and we used some Nutella in-between the layers of cake. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muddyh2os

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I was really excited to make this cake for my sister's birthday. I was confident that it would be delicious since it had so many great reviews. I was completely disappointed.The cake was bland and the whipped cream frosting was tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I have made this cake three times now for different birthday parties. It is truly the best chocolate cake I have ever tasted. For one birthday I removed the hazelnuts (peanut allergies) and it was still amazing. Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
So good!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryanne Dickey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Delicious cake! I only had two 9" cake pans so I made a 2- instead of 3-layer cake, so the extra filling I spread on top of the cake before frosting it. I didn't have any problem with letting the filling chill completely before spreading it, as some reviewers mentioned. Also, be aware that if you make the frosting as written (NOT with Cool Whip), it won't be sweet, just creamy/nutty. It can be a nice touch to offset all the sweetness of the cake and filling, but just be aware of that. Taste a little while you're whipping the cream and if you don't like it as is, add a pinch or two of white sugar, until it's *just* sweet enough. I left mine as is and feel it's a nice contrast, especially since I don't like super-sweet frostings, but it also would have been good with a small pinch of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Made this for birthday. Absolutely fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I made this cake for a family dinner and it's the only time a whole cake has been eaten before the end of the day. I usually take a bunch of leftovers home, but not this time. I did add some Nutella to the filling mixture, but it really didnt need it. I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I liked this recipe a lot when I saw it. I had been searching for a hazelnut cake recipe that I could tweak and found this one. Instead of adding pudding mix I bought the chocolate cake mix with pudding added. Then I added about a tbsp of hazelnut syrup (didn't have extract) to the cake batter, chocolate cream, and frosting. It was awesome. Everybody at the office raved about it and the family joking said I can now open my own cake shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I made this for my husbands birthday. Not a crumb left! I substituted almonds for the hazelnuts, because I couldn't find any hazelnuts. Also, almond extract fot the vanilla. Unbelievable cake. It was a hit and I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States