Chocolate Hazelnut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
amazing amazing amazing! I substituted almonds for the hazelnuts and took it to a dinner party... everyone loved it and a few didn't believe it hadn't come from a bakery. this cake is going into my regular rotation! thanks kendra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
Delicious! I made this cake for my birthday and my husband and I both really enjoyed it. I used Cool Whip instead of whipping cream. I only used real whipping cream for the 1/4 cup you mix into the melted chocolate chips. The only thing I would change next time would be to use fewer chocolate chips. It was a bit too heavy in the stomach as is. Next time, I'd reduce the chocolate chips to maybe 1 cup or 3/4 cup instead of 1.5 cups. Other than that, a beautiful and delicious cake. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
Looking for a way to "jazz" up a chocolate cake mix? This was delicious. Instead of using the hazelnuts whipping cream (which sounds wonderful) I used the "Fluffy Creamy Icing" found on this site. Tasted great and there were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
This cake was a HUGE hit!! It was incredibly beautiful and tasted just as good. I added an extra 1/2 cup of hazelnuts to give it a little more flavour and it worked really well. If you are a chocolate lover, I would definitely recommend this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
Great recipe and easy too. I replaced the hazelnuts for toffe chips and was very pleased with the results! I made the cake the day before I needed it and frosted it the day of the party - it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
This was fantastic!! Several folks thought it was bought at a fancy bakery. I think next time I won't buy the cake mix that has pudding already in the cake. It didn't rise that well. I think the amount of chocolate chips was perfect though! Thanks so much for the recipe - will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This was a wonderful cake! Wasn't too hard to make and turned out perfect the first time. Instead of using the whipping cream for the topping, I folded a teaspoon of almond extract into a tub of Cool Whip with the chopped nuts and it was delicious. One tip is to warm the whipping cream to room temperature before wisking it into the melted chocolate chips (wisking very fast and adding the cream very slowly), this helped keep it smooth. Adding the cream while it was cold made the chocolate sieze up a little and made more of a ganache than a smooth mixture. However, I still crumbled it into the whipped cream and got gooey chocolate bits inside the cream...... YUM! I almost liked it better that way than when I got it right with the second cake! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joesgirljeri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
I made this cake for a bake-off at school for my dorm.Everyone really enjoyed it and the best part was that I won first prize - $50.00 !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I made this for my mom's birthday. Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I made this cake for my fiances birthday and it was a BIG HIT! I wish i had taken a picture to put up on the site cause it looked really good too. Besides putting plain hazelnuts to decorate it I also put some chocolate covered hazelnuts on it too to make it look prettier. Not very difficult to make and it's really delicious! I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States