Chocolate Hazelnut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Wonderful! I made it for my husband's birthday and everyone loved it. I did, of course, change it a bit. Instead of water, I added brewed coffee. And for the final frosting, I mixed cream cheese in with the whipped cream for a more substantial icing. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This cake was fantastic and easy to make! I made it for a get together with all women. You know it's good when women are having seconds and wanting to take it home! I did follow the tip about the 1/4 cup cream coming to room temp before mixing it with the melted chocolate. That helped a great deal along with adding it slowly and whisking quickly. Next time I make it I think I will use a higher grade chocolate to give the filling an even richer flavor. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
WOW!!! Awesome!! I made this for a bridal shower (only change is I did a buttercream icing on the outside- not the icing in recipe ) Rave rave reviews - now one of the layers on the wedding cake will be the chocolate and hazelnut filling- YUM! The bride-to-be had two slices-YES it's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAILINDAWG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nico's Mama
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This is a great idea for a cake-mix cake - although I would suggest making the devil's food cake mix to the specifications listed under the "too much chocolate cake" recipe on this site - it uses more oil and some sour cream and insures that the cake will stay moist! Hazelnuts are kind-of pricey and this was a tester cake so I used toasted almonds instead. For frosting I looked at the "cool whipped frosting" recipe from this site but used 8 oz. of fresh cream instead of Cool Whip. I also would recommend, if using that frosting recipe, that you only use HALF the amount of the pudding mix and that you buy instant WHITE CHOCOLATE pudding rather than vanilla. The vanilla gave my cake a yellow-ish tint that I did not like...next time I will use a classic, white buttercream with this cake instead....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nico's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
If you really love hazelnut, this is your cake! I loved this cake, but I think that the icing needs a little kick. I would add a little sugar or vanilla to the whipping cream the next time. The texture was really nice, it tasted like a bakery cake...delicious! I put chocolate covered hazelnuts on top of the cake along with chocolate shavings, and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOSEPHINE2129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Rutherford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I made this cake for a birthday and everyone loved it! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Photo by mingry77
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This cake was absolutely exquisite. Everything about this cake was delectable. I particularly enjoyed that this wonderfully chocolate cake was not too heavy. Like another reviewer mentioned -- I recommend letting your cream warm to room temperature before adding it to the chocolate -- or simply heat it in the microwave for a few seconds to warm. This will prevent the chocolate from seizing. One other note, when I chilled the filling for 30 minutes it was way too stiff to spread -- but maybe my refrigerator was too cold. In any case, I would skip that step next time. All in all this was a wonderful recipe and I received nothing but rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mingry77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I made this cake for my fiances birthday and it was a BIG HIT! I wish i had taken a picture to put up on the site cause it looked really good too. Besides putting plain hazelnuts to decorate it I also put some chocolate covered hazelnuts on it too to make it look prettier. Not very difficult to make and it's really delicious! I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I made this for my mom's birthday. Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
I made this cake for a bake-off at school for my dorm.Everyone really enjoyed it and the best part was that I won first prize - $50.00 !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States