Chocolate Gravy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
I tried this recipe several times and started modifying it after the second try it was just too sweet and not enough butter to throughly disolve the four/cocoa mixture. I decreased the amount of sugar to 1/2 cup and increase the butter to 5 tablespoons. I also combine the flour and cocoa and whisk it before I add it to the butter. Also, if you let the butter cool for a bit after melting it will decrease the chance for lumps. Also, I add the sugar to the milk with 1 teaspoon of vanilla and stir to disolve before adding it to the butter/cocoa/flour mixture. The original recipe makes a great cold chocolate pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
284 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wander'sWorld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nicoma Park, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Locust Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
My husband loves chocolate gravy, and I've been looking for a foolproof recipe. This is it--perfect thickness, perfect sweetness, creamy and smooth. Ingredient amounts and directions are right on target. My husband says this is even better than his mom's; what a compliment! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I love this recipe! My children love this recipe! The only thing I changed was I reduced the amount of sugar to 1/2 C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
this is why i love allrecipes. my grandmother used to make this. she served it over a dense yellow cake, but it is just as delicious over biscuits, waffles, etc...thank you so much for posting this. it is exactly how i remember it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Oh, my gosh, this was sublime! Fried up some thick cut Applewood smoked bacon, served with some homemade biscuits all slathered with butter and it was a heart attack on a plate and we loved every sinful bite. Of course, this was a trial run and we'll have to limit ourselves to this kind of mad indulgence on special occasions. No one who has reviewed this recipe claims it's healthy and good for you and is something you'd eat every day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2001
I've been looking for a chocolate gravy recipe. This recipe is very easy and it came out perfect. It sounded like too much, so I cut the recipe in half. I served it over buttermilk biscuits. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
Thank you Mary Ann! My grandmother made this for me when I visited her as a small child, it was something I loved almost as much as my sweet grandmother. She served this scrumptious treat over hot bisquits with bacon and livermush. She passed away many years ago and I never learned to make it. I am so happy to be able to pass this on to my children, thanks to you. -Michelle Du Bose Greensboro, NC-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
I'm from the Midwest and never heard of chocolate gravy but it sounded interesting enough that I had to give it a try. Very easy to make and wonderfully smooth and chocolately. Am anxious to try it when company is visiting sometime. How does it taste on waffles and pancakes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
This is soooo good. At first my mom was a bit skeptical because she doesn't like sweet stuff for breakfast, but she really liked it after she tried it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauseon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
This recipe is SOOO good. We had it for breakfast one morning, and was definately pleased. I even took it with biscuits as a Thank You Breakfast for my room mother one day. I definately recommend this is you love chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livingston, Texas, USA
Living In: Brookeland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States