Chocolate Gravy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I tried making chocolate gravy for the first time this morning. Great recipe. My husband won't eat chocolate gravy, so I halved the recipe. The recalculated recipe called for 1/4c and 2 TBL of sugar, I only used 1/4c and left out the 2 TBL and it was plenty sweet. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Martin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Paris, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This recipe is great as is. You do have to cook it for about 5 minutes, it will thicken up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icooknaked

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This was wonderful! My whole family loved it! It didnt taste as much like flower as my grandmothers used to. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
The recipe that I have always used contains eggs, so it's a bit more full-flavored. You can't beat this one for speed and ease, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I haven't had chocolate gravy since my great grandmother used to make it when I was a little girl. I followed the recipe to the tee, considering I've never had any success with gravy before. It was perfect!! It tasted just like I remember grandma's tasted. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momlovestocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
liked this one alot. have tried others and this one by far the best. my wifed loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Until now I'd only had chocolate gravy twice in my life: once growning up when a friend's mom made it for us, and then once when a distant cousin made it during a family reunion. He said my great-grandmother made it all the time. She died when I was two but his version was yummy. This tastes just like it! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This was a great recipe. My mom used to make this when I was a kid and I loved it. The only thing I changed was I put the flour and the cocoa in a bowl and mixed it with cold milk. I melted my butter in the pan and poured the cold mixture in then I added the sugar. It turned out perfect. Yum, yum, yummy...Thanks for a great recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I made this yesterday to try, as my brother's gf swears by it. I liked it, and the kids loved it, but my husband not so much. Followed the recipe to the letter, and it thickened up exactly like normal breakfast gravy, so I think the amounts are spot on... it's just not something we'll be eating on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Made this for Saturday morning breakfast with my three kids- 6, 4, and 1 1/2. They all LOVED it and thought it was a very special old-fashioned treat. My 6 year old had thirds. I cut the recipe in half and it was plenty for the kids and me. When halving the recipe, I cut the sugar to 1/4 cup and it was plenty sweet for us against the saltiness of the biscuits. I think the kids will be requesting this for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pastormaya
Living In: Kenai, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States