Chocolate Gravy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I added 1 tsp of vanilla and reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Oh my goodness! I've heard my father-in-law talk about his mother making chocolate gravy when he was a little boy. This is absolutely delicious! It needs no modifications. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
My husband's family calls it "Soppin Chocolate." Personally, it's too sweet for me, but everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This recipe did not go as directed. I followed recipe exactly and the butter/flour/cocoa mixture did not thicken to a paste. It just boiled and boiled until I could smell burnt butter. I quickly added extra flour and then it thickened. A general roux calls for much more flour for so much butter, so that is where the problem came into play I am sure. The flavor was pretty bland, I am not sure about how to spruce it up. If I make it again I will start with a general roux and not pay attention to the amounts directed in this recipe. Might try adding salt and vanilla for the flavor aspect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin up love

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Naples, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Oh my goodness!!!! I never heard of chocolate gravy before, but this was heaven in my mouth! This is definately a keeper! It was perfect! I too cut the amount of sugar to 1/2 cup and it was perfect the way it was. Thank you Mary Ann for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Stevens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
We made this recipe in "Home Ec" in H.S. in the '70's, lol! A wonderful secret was...make drop dumplings with BisQuik and drop them into the simmering "soup" follow the "drop dumpling" directions on the BisQuik box....Oh my!!! It's like chocolate cobbler! Put a few slices of banana or your fav fresh fruit on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mingo Junction, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This is a recipe my mother in-law used to fix for me on weekends when I came to visit. Try adding dumplings while the mixture is cooking. use you own bisquit dough or store bought bisquits cut into pieces will do also.It is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Stokes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I've never heard of Chocolate Gravy until I came across this recipe. It's actually quite tasty! It has a nice cocoa flavor. We served it over pancakes and later added a tablespoon or more to a glass of milk for some excellent chocolate milk! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmyra, Missouri, USA
Living In: La Grange, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I have made chocolate gravy for 35 years, my husband grew up on it. This is a great recipe with a warm buttered hot biscuit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States