Chocolate Gravy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Maybe it was just me and my family, but this was not what I expected it to be. I expected more creamy and less sweet! I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flower20851

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I had always heard of chocolate gravy, but never tried it. I decided to make this and it was awesome! It will be a recipe I will use over an over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Personally I didn't feel this recipe lived up to its ratings. It was okay, but it was so much like a pudding (only not as good), that I would just go ahead and make the pudding. I followed the recipe exactly, and used good Ghiardelli cocoa powder, but thought it was lacking something. If I ever make it again I would add vanilla to see if that helped. Unfortunately this is not a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I added 1 tsp of vanilla and reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Oh my goodness! I've heard my father-in-law talk about his mother making chocolate gravy when he was a little boy. This is absolutely delicious! It needs no modifications. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
My husband's family calls it "Soppin Chocolate." Personally, it's too sweet for me, but everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This recipe did not go as directed. I followed recipe exactly and the butter/flour/cocoa mixture did not thicken to a paste. It just boiled and boiled until I could smell burnt butter. I quickly added extra flour and then it thickened. A general roux calls for much more flour for so much butter, so that is where the problem came into play I am sure. The flavor was pretty bland, I am not sure about how to spruce it up. If I make it again I will start with a general roux and not pay attention to the amounts directed in this recipe. Might try adding salt and vanilla for the flavor aspect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin up love

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Naples, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Oh my goodness!!!! I never heard of chocolate gravy before, but this was heaven in my mouth! This is definately a keeper! It was perfect! I too cut the amount of sugar to 1/2 cup and it was perfect the way it was. Thank you Mary Ann for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
We made this recipe in "Home Ec" in H.S. in the '70's, lol! A wonderful secret was...make drop dumplings with BisQuik and drop them into the simmering "soup" follow the "drop dumpling" directions on the BisQuik box....Oh my!!! It's like chocolate cobbler! Put a few slices of banana or your fav fresh fruit on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by USAF mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mingo Junction, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States