Chocolate Gravy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I made this yesterday to try, as my brother's gf swears by it. I liked it, and the kids loved it, but my husband not so much. Followed the recipe to the letter, and it thickened up exactly like normal breakfast gravy, so I think the amounts are spot on... it's just not something we'll be eating on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Made this for Saturday morning breakfast with my three kids- 6, 4, and 1 1/2. They all LOVED it and thought it was a very special old-fashioned treat. My 6 year old had thirds. I cut the recipe in half and it was plenty for the kids and me. When halving the recipe, I cut the sugar to 1/4 cup and it was plenty sweet for us against the saltiness of the biscuits. I think the kids will be requesting this for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pastormaya
Living In: Kenai, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I haven't had this in years and made it last weekend for my husband and I.  He had never had chocolate gravy and he loved it! Thank you for the great recipe and bringing back some great memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachaelp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe and it was a huge hit for my family too. It's extremely easy to make and tastes great on biscuits and cake. It had a great consistency, almost like gravy. I'll certainly be making this regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This is exactly the recipe I was looking for. It tastes exactly like I remember when I was a little girl. I have made it for my family and they love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAGH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wynne, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Tasted like warm chocolate pudding, we enjoyed this very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YAELIE24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Excellent! But I do agree with adding a little vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This was fantastic! My husband's grandmother made chocolate gravy, and I had no clue how. Found this, tweaked it a tiny bit, and he raved over it! I added one extra tablespoon of butter and one extra tablespoon of cocoa. It is wonderful... I see why he missed it so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hallsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Gladewater, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
My Grandmother made this for me all of the time. This tastes just like hers! I did reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup and added a dash of salt. A wonderful, wonderful recipe. Try this one, you will not be disappointed! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I made this for my husband on Christmas Eve and he loved it! He is on a low sodium diet, so I substituted salt free butter and fat free milk b/c of the low sodium, but it still came out awesome! I can see why this is a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States